You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'll see you again

in #poetrybounty5 years ago

This poem feels so deeply tied to the emotions this music brings up, the echoes of loving nostalgia and lament that really seem present in the opening notes of the song are so well captured in your opening verse.

That feeling of an unbreakable bond, of it having grown in happiness, the moments you chose to draw on encapsulate such a depth. They are so perfectly selected to represent both everyday moments, and a lifetime of connection

It was your laugh when you danced
A song I listened to as I walked

It is such a relatable way of describing how someone becomes etched into your life. You have a lot of powerful phrases in here that say so very much in so little, and say it so exceptionally well, I am tempted to quote far too much of this. The way you contrast them against each other gives them such power. Love, healing, meaning against corruption and being broken, gold and treasure contrast against darkness and death. Reading this took me down every heart break, every loss I have ever known, and not just the pain of it, but that fire that refuses to back down or give up, which really comes across in the song. The way you lead this into the ending, that power of love that doesn’t give up, that won’t go away, and the stark imagery of gouging out eyes compared to the beauty in this poem, it works really well to convey that strength of passion.

I really love the way you tie the sword back to the gold with the mention of the treasure chest, the gold has been taken, but your will to fight remains, and at the end, here you are, willing to fight with all you have for it. The last two verses are just so filled with emotion, and so very powerful, there is a pureness to them that is hair raising. This is such a beautiful poem, I am just so glad I got to read it.

#sbi-skip

Sort:  

Thank you @calluna, I am deeply happy with your words.

Each word of the poem was inspired by the beautiful melody, in fact in some precise parts of the song I sang the verses I wrote, it is something magical to imagine and feel a story listening to music. Thank you for the contest and the opportunity to rise to a different world through the sensations that music triggers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64