THE FAMILIAR STRANGER

in #poetry7 years ago

You were charming

And sweet

You knew all the right words

Had the perfect number of zeros

And a face that made every woman look

image

You had singled me out of the many

Even when I had not, the boldness to look

Fancy dates and sweet promises

I could only in excitement nod as you popped the question

Now, in this prison you call matrimony

I now realise why it had been me

You had chosen the easy prey

The soft one

A good subject for your monstrous biddings

image

I look in the mirror and all I see

Is a familiar stranger

An empty shell of who I once was

Beaten, battered, broken

Your 'I love you's' haven't stopped

if this is what love is

Given a second chance,

l'll gladly be hated

All pictures from pixabay

Sort:  

valentines-day-3111713__480.jpg

Let this lighten your love again

Thank you so much dear

Love is indeed beautiful but when it tries to imprison us, we should run as fast as our legs can carry us. Nice one

Thank you so much dear for stopping by.

Even at a strange of intense feelings
I dreamed i never said to hide
Wish the same blood of love still flows

I wish I can read the mind at every "I love you's" I hear and see how true those words are.

This is amazing dear
It touched my soul

Thank you so much dear, I'm glad it did.

Awesome poetry dear.
We should alwats walk into love with a clear eyes

Yes you are right love is no longer blind

Love indeed is a wonderful feeling but never anyone control your life or keep you in prison, be wise be smart, love is not wicked but sweet

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63220.55
ETH 2560.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80