The Night visitor

in #poetry6 years ago

pixabay

One night,
alone in the dark room,
I received a visitor attired
in a black and white costume.

She was black and white
With a beautiful purr
And eyes that see at night
Along with silky fur.

That very night, awake
with my back on my couch,
I watched my visitor walk
stealthily around my living room.

What does a cat want in my house?
It was day for visitors, alright
but night for the silent host.

This place is not for you!
You lived with James,
He left years ago,
and left you behind, alone.

Mama warned me :
beware of the cat
the cat is an uncanny courier
depositing parcels of evil
at thresholds in the night,
helping herself with the pot of soup
in the kitchen, at night

The pastor warned me
beware of the cat
it's in the holy book:
beware of the instrument of darkness.

Out, then, out trespasser,
I say get out!
there is no road here,
take the same way you 'd
taken on your way to my living room.

There are no mice in my abode
I say am not aware of any rodent
in my home, go back the way
you would come.

Suppose I had slept unclad,
flat and face up, dreaming
of bachelorhood days,
when a cat entered my house

Suppose???

When you sleep at night,
do not sleep naked, because a cat
may enter into your room.

Thank you..

This article can be found in my whaleshares blog 👉 https://whaleshares.io/whaleshares/@isaac-richie/the-night-visitor

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 26.22% upvote from us for your 2033 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54