You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BAD POETRY IS TAKING OVER STEEMIT

in #poetry7 years ago

Why not offer something helpful to the community such as ways they can improve their poetry. Not everyone has an education in these types of things, not everyone went on study an arts degree and know what makes good poetry. Most of these people are out giving it a go, writing from the heart and putting it out there. They are encouraged with upvotes which inspires them to learn more, do more. By just saying that their poetry is bad and people are upvoting it because they don't know good poetry isn't exactly helpful. Tell us what is good poetry, help these people learn how to make their poetry more appealing.

Sort:  

I actually have written a little more earlier, and plan to! That's a helpful contribution, so thanks. I honestly just want to get people discussing this. I admitted in the article itself I don't really know how to go about it: I just know it's something that needs to be discussed if we want to hope for any kind of quality in the long run.

And it's helpful to have the reminder that not everyone has that education. Honestly, that's part of what I'm trying to open up: a conversation among artists and writers that might help us offer an education to the Steem members who are writers and readers. As hard as it is, however, a significant part of this is being able to say when things aren't that good--as I've mentioned in almost every article I've written about this, the critics in my life have done me a lot of good, and I'm grateful. Of course I do sound a bit exasperated in this post.. but I'm just doing my best to open this up.

I'm also just sad that some really good writers here are getting no attention, while some really low quality stuff is exploding. It's hard to know what to do with that.

I'm willing to grow and do it differently, so am grateful for your suggestions!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42