Past stretching to acrophobic heights

in #poetry6 years ago

oladimeji-odunsi-472559-unsplash.jpg

if there wouldn’t be no could-have-beens & should-have-beens, this won’t be called life. they hold the ideas of faith & afterlife & heavens.

ㅤ ㅤ ㅤ ㅤ ㅤ ㅤ ㅤ to forget the past, I go from rooms to rooms — scientifically the door-frames act as some brainwashing portals & are blamed for/help in forgetting what you were thinking just before entering the room.

so enter infinite rooms to forget the far past & come clean.

on one such occasion, I went blank & the door created a new reality — a sudden smell of night-blooming jasmine & a few months ago I was walking down the street with a foreigner cousin of mine & the heavy jasmine hit us (there being no such tree around) I wrinkled my nose & ewwed & he said dont talk on it. dont you know these are the cologne of the djinns?

& I djinns(!?)

& he aint these things more believed in among you peoplesㅤ & I recite Quran in one of my rooms ..whispers into the hearts of the djinns & the men.

d j i n n. ㅤ d j i n n.ㅤ d j i n n.

like the 2 am bloody marys in the mirrors & just an hour ago, I walked down a lonely street & here’s this tiny silhouette child, naked dark in front of me; his head as big as my past doing a 180 degrees back turn, my heart doubled in useless efforts to pound out & run back the way I came, to my history & stay there.

though that bald dome, that still figure with swaying-in-the-wind hands didn’t extend and elongate unto acrophobic heights, for the love of the life in me, as djinns are presumed to.

ㅤ ㅤ ㅤ ㅤ his tiny malnutritioned urchin hands, rather, crave for a gouty touch.. an arthritic hold of what should have been.

(first published in PS I Love You by the author
https://psiloveyou.xyz/%CF%85-past-stretching-to-acrophobic-heights-f97e5b1b7414)

Sort:  

It's great to see that you have joined steemit! As for the writing, this was an impeccable piece; very interesting and well-written. I know you will be a great addition to this community!

ah you're too kind Jeremy. Thanks a lot xoxo
Yes I'm super excited to join Steemit😃looking forward to everything.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62705.03
ETH 3101.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82