Liar

in #poetry7 years ago

ROSECNTR.JPG

It all began when I lied
about why I’d come home late.
I didn’t want to hear you bitch.
I made you out to be the big bad witch
I said I was at work because you want us to be rich,
but dinner was served at six, not at eight.

My stories worked too well
I used them to get by.
You really couldn’t tell
that all I did was lie.
It was making your life a living hell.

I’d come home late and drunk.
You’d be sound asleep in bed
You never guessed how low I’d sunk.
or knew about the secret life I led.

I thought our love would never die.
If I had only thought of you.
If I had chosen not to lie
you’d have a good husband and a good friend to.
Instead I made you cry.

You accepted my answers as the truth.
You didn’t want to pry
I had found a way to get away
with anything I wanted
and now our lives are haunted
by the lies that got me by.

What happened to the man you married?
Why did he go and hide?
In the beginning his love never varied.
Lying to you he would never abide.

I lied to my bride
and watched in silence
as the years went by.
We didn’t stand a chance.
it became a marriage without romance.
For a liar isn’t manly.
His faults may be hidden
but his works tell the tale.
He talks about great things
but he only seems to fail.

I traded my soul
to get back on the make
but I squandered my integrity,
a big mistake.
I was an easy target
for the devil to take.
Now I’m hardly recognizable
for I’ve become a snake.

If I’d just do the right thing
when a lie would save a hassle
and tell the truth despite the pain
that simple honesty would bring,
ruthless tactics wouldn’t rule my brain,
I wouldn’t hang my head in shame,
I wouldn’t be such an asshole.

And so I tell my story
to save a few the pain
of living a life based on falsehoods,
there isn’t anything to gain
by cheating,
by putting off the truth,
just to save a beating
for you know the truth will find you
and your troubles start repeating.

Take my word
things come out better
if, when the choice occurs,
you’re truthful to the letter.
Lying about it is sure to upset her.
Don’t make her mad
and you’ll be happy that you met her.

~@yombo

Sort:  

originalartworks!

This post was promoted with @monitorcap traffic bot & STEEM promotion service.

Send MIN. $1 SBD to @monitorcap bot with your link in MEMO field
and recieve upvotes & resteems for your posts. @monitorcap - where 'seen' matters !

Congratulations @yombo! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58067.54
ETH 2469.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40