Vagrants

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

MVC-269F.JPG

I wrote these around 1993 when I had a shirt-and-tie job right next to Hollywood & Vine in Los Angeles. I did actually approach a local homeless man by Sunset & Ivar and offered him a suitably-lettered placard, foolishly still wearing my office clothes, and he wasn't interested. I put them online in 1996 in the usegroup rec.arts.poems. The selfie I shot in 1999.

On Hollywood Boulevard, as I strode by
Some hard-luck stories caught my eye
'Twould better be, thought I, if they
Did something for the funds we pay
So I gave the vagrants signs like these
But 'twas just like pissing in the breeze ...

MosT day's   i do backflip's
      oR kaRtweel's on THe go
   Today i geT a well eRned ResT
  you can pay foR yesTerdays sHow

you MiTe THink iM a lazy dog
    in suM way's THaT is TRue
  buT duMsTeR divings reel HaRd woRk
      is iT suMTHing you would do?

next week iM Taking MasTRcaRd
  discovR and visa To
  but since THey closd my swiss acounT
        Today a quaRTeR will do

        iM noT jusT a deadbeeT
  living in THe TRasH
iM a lowlife enTeRTainR
    Now,How about suM cash?

  you pRobally neveR give a diMe
Too guy's on THe sTReeT like Me
well jusT have a nice day youRself you HeRe
    foR you THe sHow is fRee

    i MiTe look aweful sick
      and i MiTe sMell aweful bad
but ive economic independens
      and foR THaT iM glad

 

@yawnguy is my "serious" account. This one is for other stuff like poetry and general commentary.

Sort:  

Beautiful piece of work. Smiles

See this piece...

No matter whether weather wrong or right!
Not from my eyes as any eye can see,
But when we had this endless summer night!
Oh baby darling please remember me.

Was there an angel watching over you,
Never heard a single word they say,
I only wanted something else to do.
The world is taking such an easy way.

Nothing ever gonna fade away!
A little thing that you already know!
Or really going on another day,
Too many people never letting go.

I wanna know the love of being true,
Giving me a way of passing through.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43