The Evolution of Our Heroes (Day 9)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Our heroes evolve as we do. As a pre-adolescent, for example, I was obsessed with comic books superheroes—which was a role, in turn, I ascribed to rockstars in my teens. In my early twenties, philosophers represented the ultimate definition of cool and this, gradually, gave way to poets and artists in general, in my thirties, whom I regarded as true free spirits and independent thinkers.

Now, in my mid forties, my superheroes are mystics and saints. I study their lives and utterances for clues on how to realize this remote human possibility. I realize how difficult and rare it is to embark on the great adventures of the spirit life that they undertook, these intrepid explorers of inner space. I revere those virtuosos of love and longing, the way I did their caped and masked counterparts in comic books: for their inspiring sense of purpose and their willingness to sacrifice all to achieve it.

Today’s poem is not directly about mystics or saints. But, it is related to a faculty that, if we attempt to faithfully develop throughout our lives, we might hope to experience a glimpse of their exalted state:

I used to marvel at the saints who purposely subjected themselves to bodily abuses. Now I understand that this passion for pain, even in the torture of martyrdom, represents the haste and impatience to no longer be interrupted and disturbed by the evil that can come from this side... So great is my fear of the body's abuse of the soul...

—poet Rainer Maria Rilke (in a letter to his muse Lou Andreas Salome)
Dove.png

Remaining Awake

Whether or not we recognize it,
we all carry beepers that go off all hours,
they're in-built and difficult to get rid of
—let's call them our conscience.

You may press the mute button
but you can't keep it down for long
well-functioning models are dream-proof
instructing us in code, while we slumber

There are two ways through:
one is fiendish complexity,
the other is utter simplicity.

Inner work that we postpone only piles up
overwhelms and threatens to bury us,
best to take the call when morality dials in.

It's a sign of spiritual maturity
when lesser transgressions
prick our virtue the way
major ones did before.

Our lives are like a long day;
it's easier to fall sleep,
if we’ve remained awake.

© Yahia Lababidi



(Images: Pixabay 1, 2)
Dove.pngThis is my entry for Day 9 of @d-pend's The 100 Day Poetry Challenge. To join the movement, please, visit Steemit School on discord founded by @Dobartim

Sort:  

Thank you for taking time to share a poem sublime @yahialababidi. Our life is a testimony. They did not chose to testify but the testimony chose them. Now this testimony continues through you and me.

A response, in verse! How refined and true. Pleased to e-meet you :)

I really loved this. "Our lives are like a long day" ooooh, how much I love that line.

Welcome to Steemit, Modiri Wisiso Ntsimanyana 🤓
Thank you, for stopping by & I hope your time, here, will be rewarding 🙏🏼

Thank you, I really appreciate your kind words.

This is incredible. My hero as Ive grown older has changed. It may not be a mystic or a saint, but has changed from a man with otherworldly superpowers, to earthly ones. My Father. May he rest in piece.

Bless his soul, and may what is best in him live on in you & guide you ✨🙏🏼💫

Thank you so much for your words of kindness. 🙏

your poetry can be motivation of life for everyone. Sometimes I feel what do you said Its happen to me.
The beepers that go off all hours.
Inner work that we postpone only piles up
overwhelms

nice sharing, friend!

I’m grateful it spoke to you & believe art can do that (if true) speak the silences of others & what’s in the heart of strangers.

Bless you 🙏🏼

Keep up writing.

Bless you

As always, I love your way with words. The last stanza is probably my favorite from the whole thing: "Our lives are like a long day; it's easier to fall sleep, if we’ve remained awake." That just has so many levels, and if I didn't have class, I'd go on more about it :P

Cheers, Caleb. Thanks, for noticing the levels in that last stanza, from the school of life :) Go to class, bud, always good to hear from you & know that you understand. Wishing you a peaceful, creative week ahead.

Thank you @yahialababidi! I'm trying, as hard as it is :o

Beautiful written poetry and also truthful .

egg hatch super hero. hehe

eggs hatch dreams :) happy image tickled you (and I see we both share a fondness for pigeons).

As usual treat to read your wonderful lines with so much deep meaning of life, i loved these essence of art my great friend Yahia <3

It's a sign of spiritual maturity
when lesser transgressions
prick our conscience
the way major ones did before.
Our lives are like a long day;
it's easier to fall sleep,
if we’ve remained awake.

Thank you, for your support and attention, Salman.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60699.39
ETH 2655.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59