SteemitPoetryContest #11 / “Undertow”, Original Poem for Lonely Hearts

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Undertow

There are swathes of time when everything pines
for the familiar pinch, that outgrown garment
like Tagore’s caged bird unsure where to perch in the sky
disoriented by freedom and longing for the safety of bars

rather shame-faced, maimed, handicapped than pretend
to outdistance a past that is unappeasable presence
days when hollows ache, and the desperate fiction
of the moment can hardly persuade body or mind

or rainy weekends, when the heart prefers to curl up
replaying old movies, soothed by the rich melancholy
and drowning, voluptuously, in womb-like reassurance
of a warm bath, or the water-world of memories, dreams

© Yahia Lababidi

(Images: Pixabay)

Sort:  

Like it. Very poetic language!

Thanks, for reading. Glad you enjoyed it :)

Powerful words Yahia. Truly inspirational for me. By the way I wanted to ask you, are you a full time poet and you do that for work, or is it a hobby?

Good to hear from you, again, @nuridin & congratulations on your successes, here!

Glad to hear you enjoyed this piece & truly interested to learn how you found it inspirational?

Yes, Sir, I am a full-time poet - far more than a mere hobby, it’s the air that I breathe (though I would not call it work, it’s more “serious play” :)

Here, is a fuller introduction, in Arabic:
https://goo.gl/jaZjEn

Salam, Yahia

Great to know that. I've started to post my poetry on my blog and will be doing more of that gradually. I mostly write about business and entrepreneurship but the poet in me can't stay dormant :)
How I find it inspirational?
"like Tagore’s caged bird unsure where to perch in the sky
disoriented by freedom and longing for the safety of bars" - This accurately describe the fears I talked about in my post I made 3 days ago titled: "The Fears Associated With Being an Entrepreneur" - I find a nice very accurate analogy to what I talked in about in your poetry using the Tagore's caged bird :)

Thanks, for the instant gratification. I’ve just returned from reading your devotional poem - it’s sweet.

Sweet, too, to hear how the Tagore analogy resonates with your post on Fears, which I also enjoyed.

Best of luck 🙏🏼

Thanks Yahia ... :) I'm lucky to know you here my friend. By the way, I also learned about the poetry contest from your title... I'll check in the next round and start doing submission :)


شكرا للمشاركة المميزة!
حصلت على تصويت من
@arabsteem curation trail !
و تم اختيار مقالتك ضمن مقالات يومية مختارة للنشر اليوم في مقالنا! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60249.61
ETH 2321.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51