You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Broken Beautifully (An Original Poem)

in #poetry7 years ago

I love the idea, @ericvancewalton, of being 'broken beautifully'. Thank you, for developing it and reminding us of the power of having our hearts broken, open, with tenderness and compassion.

So many echoes of this life-sustaining idea from different disciplines --- spirituality, psychology, and literature. Here' a few:

"I was given a thorn in my flesh... to torment me. / Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. / But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness. ”

  • St. Paul

'The wound is the place where the Light enters you.' -Rumi

'Only the wounded physician heals.' -Jung

'There is a crack in everything / that's how the light gets in.'

  • Leonard Cohen

Even yours truly has written a little ditty on this subject:

"I've been lavishly gifted a pain
as thick and rich as oil paint
By pushing it round the page
I've learned to make Art."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39