You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 30 Day Poetry Challenge :: Day 11, 12, & 13 :: Mountain Musings

in #poetry7 years ago

Oh my goodness, @anwenbaumeister we're in synch! I, too, was wandering around a mountain, in Peru, without a computer for the last 2 days (and feeling ever-so-slightly guilty).

In the small hours of this morning, around 4am, I was abruptly awoken by a serious earthquake - so, still a little shaken up and underslept...

But, now that I'm home, I thought to contribute a desert meditation, below, for your Day 12 Poetry Challenge (I hope to get to your Day 13 sometime, soon).

Also, I adore the prayer of your mountain musings, especially, this excerpt, below:

"using air as their mode of transportation,
this is like believing in God.
Trusting something that they cannot see
to carry them through life"


Desert Revisited

under a whirling skirt of sky
streaming light and stars
groping for that tremendous hem
gingerly over quicksand

as though steadied
beneath some tongue and dissolving
not the absence of sound
but the presence of silence

or, as if transfixed
by a gaze, stern-serene
surveying a dream
foreign-familiar

incorruptible starting point
inviolable horizon
where eye and mind are free
to meditate perfection

there, begin to uncover
buried in dust and disinterest
the immutable letter
(first of the alphabet) Alif

under the ever-watchful eye:
fearsome sun, forgiving moon
bless the magnificent hand
all else is blasphemy, a lie

experience quietude
the maturity of ecstasy
longing to utter
the Unutterable Name

only striving supreme or pure
can ever hope to endure
the absolute face
the awesome embrace.

Sort:  

Wow, beautiful!
I love Peru, I hope you have a great journey there and hope you don't have any more earthquakes!

Thank you 🙏🏼 I know you love Peru & enjoy the posts you share of your adventures there! Thanks, for your kind wishes & I wish you safe travels in inner spaces, too. 🤓

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83