Poem / Untitled pt 9

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Untitled pt 9

enter image description here
Image Credit

Image Credit

I hadn't seen her in two days
I phoned her every evening to make sure she was okay
Every hour that was left of my weekend
In front of the piano I spent

I found so many songs
What was I thinking
Stopping this was wrong
The feelings are probably better than drinking

Monday morning came round
I had to get to work
The day flew by
I tried my best to keep occupied and not shirk

At lunch I called her again
'Hey friend'
It's been a while
'No it hasn't I called you last night'
I'm just kidding, don't fight

'Want to go out sometime?'
I'm busy till Wednesday
But after that's fine
'I wanna go to the cinema'
'I haven't been in a while'
Is there anything good showing?
'None that have been brought to my knowing'

I heard her giggle on the other end
I'll see you Thursday then
'I'll phone you later with better details'
I could feel the butterflies in my entrails
'Ja ne'
Good bye

Lunch ended, I just wanted to go home
I finally got off work but I'd lost my phone
How'm I supposed to contact her now?
I drove to her street on the other side of town

The sight of such grace
She greeted me with a smiling face
She has such a warm embrace
And look at me, I'm a damned disgrace
What a surprise
'Sorry I lost my cell'
it's fine
'I just wanted to let you know'
'Just in case you wondered why I didn't phone'

'How was your day?'
I'm wasn't feeling grand so I decided to stay
'Any news from the court side of life?'
Just that they started investigating my brothers wife
'It can only be expected, he is the main suspect'
I know, but she isn't like my bro'
'Wanna go for dinner real quick?'
Sure but I might not be able to eat
I'm still feeling quite sick
'That's no problem'
'I just want something that I don't have to make'
'Work was hectic, I just want a break'

We went to go eat
Man I was feeling beat
I dropped her off at her place
There was a bit more interface
I left after a while of meaningless chit-chat
Maybe I left it in my backpack?
Oh well I'll just have to check tomorrow
My brains exhausted my concentration is far from narrow

I hopped in bed
I was feeling half dead
The minute my head hit the pillow
I felt my brain mellow


I can't quite see you
'Why don't you appreciate what I do?'


I woke with a start
I had a bit of an insecure heart
That was usually how things went
I hope this wasn't the way our relationship would end

I got ready for work and climbed on my motorcycle
It was warm and I was feeling a bit hostile
I got to work and rechecked every area
I searched my backpack and found it in the side compartment
I called her again
I wanted her voice to wash away my insecure pain
Left with voice mail
I guess she went in today
I'll just have to ferment till later

By Ethan
2017/09/17

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed! If you did and want to hear more you can follow me here (^~^) <(^~^<)

Sort:  

beautiful thoughts... keep up the good work...

Nice poetry 👏👏

Is a poem full of feelings, you should find a beautiful title

Fantastic poetry..! good work ❤️

These are the great and the most wonderful poem I heard

Words that let you imagine wonderful

beautiful!!!!!

Nice post you

Good one , good flow , nice thoughts

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58039.01
ETH 2460.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32