Poem / Untitled pt 13

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Untitled pt 13

enter image description here
Image Credits

I was at her place in no time
I raged through traffic
Stopping to swear at this dude

She opened up with a smile
I looked at her for a while
She didn't seem to be doing to well
Something was off I could tell

'How are you?'
I could be better
I received a letter
It was about this whole mess
I was getting nothing from the will
'Even after his attempts to kill?'
They found all sorts of loop holes

I wrapped her in my arms
I'm sorry for bringing you into this mess
You deserve the best
'It's just another of life's tests'

I talked to her for a little while
Then went back to my place
I went straight to bed
I needed get some rest


More of the same nonsense
My inner insecurities showing their essence
Dreams or rather nightmares
Of me being the second best
I didn't want this


My alarm didn't go off
My body woke up
It was around seven thirty
My mouth felt dry and dirty

I hopped in the shower
I wish I could make this last an hour
After that I made myself some cereal
A few bites and I could feel a slight bit of power

I went back to the bathroom
And picked up my tooth broom
I scrubbed for a couple minutes
I was lost in thought

Why do I keep having these dreams
Why do I hear the random screams
I think I'm just going to take today slow
I'll go play some video games and head off to the airshow

Maybe I'm just gonna leave it
Climb back in bed
I need it
Say that this is not a day
And just sleep it all away

I got into bed
And fell asleep
Again all I could hear
Was a terrifying weep

My phone vibrated like crazy
I picked it up
She was outside
My appearance didn't bother my mind

I opened the door and let her in
'I'm going back to bed'
'Today I don't exist I'm just dead'
That's alright
Mind if I join?
I've had no time to even idly flip a coin

I slipped back into my sheet
Now two pairs of cold feet
You calm me down
'I'm glad but I'm drifting out of town'
I know how you feel
'No breaks, more work to kill'
Yeah...
I felt a warm breath of fresh air
I could feel her stare
She fell asleep
So did I
It's funny when you're sleeping
How time flies

enter image description here
Image Credits

By Ethan
2017/09/21

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed! If you did and want to hear more you can follow me here (^~^) <(^~^<)

Sort:  

thanks for share

these lines reminded me of a poem I wrote - many years ago...
Why do I keep having these dreams
Why do I hear the random screams

O N A M O V I N G E Y E
caught
in the twinkling twilight
glimpse of a nightstar
marking the borderline
between
night and day.

I fought
on a nightflight
on the wing
of an airplane
against
the storm.

Raging.
Something's always
keeping me awake.

fortunately it is no longer keeping me awake - most things wither with the storms of life :-) Cheers from the seven mountains in Germany

I could feel her stair

Really? This is one of the main reason I didn't upvote. It's either very trite cutesy symbolism, or a very basic spelling error.

that is the very reason poetry is subjective. try @d-pend he got a lot of poems also. one thing i like about of this author is the simplicity of his poems

Dude look, I write these things very early in the morning, I am alone and don't have anyone to proof read, I make simple mistakes I'm human just like you. Don't grill me for it just because of a simple spelling error.

P.S. your vote wouldn't mean much with all of the shade you cast

With or without casting shade, my vote means nothing at all. Nothing I've ever posted has gained any substantial support or feedback.
I'll still take the time to correct simple spelling and usage errors.

I don't mind when you correct them but don't degrade content because of it :)

Thanks to provide Great New and Useful Information

Still loving this poem story. I do love the way the relationship has its ups and downs. It is reflective of real life. Hope you are doing well. You seem to be really enjoying your writing. I am glad! Have a great Friday Ethan!!! :D

Awesome poem. My wife always hates when I travel for work because she pretty much cant sleep when I'm not laying next to her.

Lovely. As always

Sweet and lovely...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17