Poem / The Path

in #poetry7 years ago

The Path

enter image description here
Image Credits

A long walk in the darkness
How did life come to this
This park has always been so vibrant
Why are the colors blurred and faded

This pathway of bricks
Never had any kinks
It's always been straight and narrow
But now it's splintered like a broken arrow

Years ago this path was whole
It's deteriorating in proportion with my soul
The way is covered, dirty and unclear
I'm wonderin' all alone, all I feel's fear

Is that a light in the distance?
If I walked over would it be an inconvenience?
Surely it's there for a reason?
It's the light in my darkest season

It's getting closer, I can feel its warmth
It feels like I'm nearing a low lit hearth
I'm trying to reach out and grasp it
I've so many questions to ask it

What's Its' purpose?
What's mine?
It's fading away
I'm running out of time


Awakened with a cold sweat
My life needs direction
I can no longer fret
I've mistakes that need correctin'

I need to grab the reigns
Take control of my horse
Start working through the pain
Redirecting my own course


It's been a while
Since I last showed a smile
Might as well start
To chip away at my stone encrusted heart

It's time to brake down my walls
Allow people in
That don't wish for my downfall
That'll be there when I'm hurtin'


I've found direction
I know my purpose
That paths being fixed
Color's slowly returning

By Ethan
2017/06/23

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed! If you did and want to hear more you can follow me here ☺

Sort:  

Fantastic imagery throughout the poem. Well done. I enjoyed it tremendously.

Thank you :)

Love it!

I can only imagine how you must feel but to create something so beautiful out of it it wonderful. keep it up!

Thank you :D There is beauty in all things even in the saddest and hardest times

Wow, this is amazing! I love the animation to give it a deeper feel. You have some talent :)

Thank you :) much appreciated

Very nice man, been a while since I read a poem to the end. The path to the light is never easy with a lot of obstacles but it's worth is. The purpose and meaning of live is love. Just keep on loving and love will come back to you.

True that :D Thanks for reading ☺

Fantastic poem and fantastic visual. I like it!

Thank you (○.○)

Hi, @xxsenpaixsamaxx
I like this post 😍😍 it's so amazing
Upvote and followed

Thank you :D I appreciate it ☺

It's so cool man 👏👏
How make it ?

It just came to me while I was listening to music :)

Hopefully the future can be a good inspiration 😊
Good job my friend

In life's journey sometimes there are many paths to choose. And we do not know which is the right path.

It's all about trial and error until we eventually succeed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59626.66
ETH 2519.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43