Poem / Ghost

in #poetry7 years ago

Ghost

enter image description here
Image Credits

Walking through the hallways
I can remember each and every single day
All of them starting and ending the same
I can remember all the words I used to say

Sitting at this desk
Writing a bunch of useless tests
Thinking I'm such a mess
Walking out to try enjoy recess

Sitting alone on a bench
"Friends" Surrounding me
Looking into the distance
Just wishing this would end

enter image description here
Image Credits

Everyday was the same
I secluded myself
Shying away from the conversation
All of them were fake

They entertained thoughts of the future
While I thought of how I was going to survive
They were reaching for the sky
While I was digging out the dirt

I heard of a party
One of my "close friends" was the host
I thought we were mates
I guess I was just a ghost

I sat at the bench and watched as everyone got temporarily hitched
I sat there alone just wishing my heart would be restitched
I watched as all of them moved on
While I sat there listening to my sad songs

enter image description here
Image Credits

I left to find a new perspective
Only to find out the world was deceptive
I sat under a tree
Surrounded by nothing but fallen leaves

No matter where I went it was only me
The only one keeping myself alive
The only one who was keeping me afloat
The only one who was constantly scooping
Buckets and Buckets of water out of my boat
The only person I could rely on was myself
Even if my mental state was pointing south

There's no more need for them
There's no need to play pretend
The path might be lonely
But it's better than having fake "homies"

enter image description here
Image Credits

By Ethan
2017/10/05

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed! If you did and want to hear more you can follow me here (^~^) <(^~^<)

Sort:  

Wow, those last 4 lines. Truth. +1

Loneliness sometimes isn't the best, but if it's the only option left, I would certainly take it. Nice one!!

nothing to say about the word that touches the heart upvote and resteem

Keep your circles small my friend, that's the best way to go! Many will be there for laughs and good times, but only few will dive in to save you when you're drowning - the art is in deciding who those few may be.

Very nice!

Very meaningful. Sorting it out is the hardest part.

They entertained thoughts of the future
While I thought of how I was going to survive
They were reaching for the sky
While I was digging out the dirt

So lovely as usual!!!

Damn your poetry is all kinds of beautiful. ..i think i should also start writing lol

Замечательные строки!У тебя талант,продолжай писать стихи и мир узнает о тебе.Успеха в дальнейших трудах.

Very nice, You are an awesome lyricist.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45