I liked this poem so much I have a tattoo of it

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20180211_032810342.jpgThis poem by W.B. Yeats struck a cord which me when I first heard it. I was watching the movie Equilibrium and one of the actors was reading it out of a book, not to mention that movie is awesome although fell short in some areas due to its constricted budget. Anyway, for me it talks about not having the power to change the unchangeable, whether it's in our own lives or the world at large, often we as human beings feel powerless and it puts us in distress. The "cloths of heaven" represent the power we wish we had, but the fact that we don't means we are only left with our dreams. Who and or what crosses the path of our dreams determine the outcome of them, we as mere human beings, not having much power and subject to simple chance and the nature of the world, have to accept that things happen that are out of our control, and simply do the best we can in pursuit of our hopes and dreams.

Full poem:
"Had I the heavens’ embroidered cloths,
Enwrought with golden and silver light,
The blue and the dim and the dark cloths
Of night and light and the half light,
I would spread the cloths under your feet:
But I, being poor, have only my dreams;
I have spread my dreams under your feet;
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams."!

Sort:  

Congratulations @xerces! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @xerces! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59020.94
ETH 2603.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44