A Sonnet of the Past & FuturesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

180324 Elk City Lake  40001.jpg

Zen-Art is holding a "Move me" poetry challenge.

She asked for a poem that would move her in a positive way.

Here is a sonnet I wrote when Ren and I were dating.

I think now on the future and the past.
The days gone by, the days we've yet to see.
The days of heady youth that fly so fast.
The days of shining hope that yet may be.
For now at last I clearly see the truth.
And look back on a life of discontent.
And rue the choices of my foolish youth.
Forever gone the days of youth misspent.
The years spent in my solitary ways.
Myself the pin 'round which my life revolved.
And then I pause and think on coming days.
And then I think on you and am resolved.
To share my loves and dreams and joys and sorrows.
And trade MY yesterdays for OUR tomorrows.

Scott Fridenberg
2003

https://steemit.com/contest/@zen-art/poetry-contest-move-me-with-your-words-and-win-sbi-shares

Sort:  

I do remember that! It was the birthday you gave me flowers. Oodles and gobs, dear.
Ren

ahhhhhh the contentment of being able to say goodbye to today and look on with expectation and hope for tomorrow!! :)

I just wrote my poem to move Petra (@zen-art) too!!! and if my internet will stay on long enough to post - i'll upload it in the next half hour or so! hehehehe

nice job and good luck in the contest!!! :)

I love when he gives me poetry for things. He is not an emotional guy, unless he is writing poetry.
Ren

you still got it Miss Ren!!

I love how men express their feelings in ways they know how.. and to you is through POEM! and all these years, you had kept it. awwww... the sweetest!!! I know i know you aren't the sweetest couple hahahaha..

Trade yesterdays for our tomorrows

There!! that is what we want to hear from our man. nailed it. rock it!

Thank you.

I used to write a lot of poetry, but for some reason I quit.

Scott

oh come on! dont let it die down.. i know you still have it in you.. put it back to the limelight.. hehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14