Free Kindle Poetry Book - Under the Lone Pine

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

I took up poetry after my stroke to help me recover from the dyslexia and to help me write short sentences on the computer. At first, the poems were simple and later I tried complex thoughts. Once I found Steemit, I wrote some of these poems for @Freewritehouse.

This week allow me to take you on a ride of the southwest and Mojave deserts with poetry collected from my blog and Steemit in my new poetry book Under the Lone Pine.

Under the Lone Pine is a poetry chapbook focused on the theme of finding lost people and dreams in the American Southwest. Each poem speaks to travelers seeking redemption, love, and happiness, while illustrating emotions, random thoughts, and dreams about people traveling through the desert.

Under the Lone Pine - Free Kindle Download

Download a Free Kindle Copy


Selections from Under the Lone Pine


In the Mirage

A rodent's fate demise
I ponder the tan path to the tragic end

In the mirage

A fan palm hides rock art mysteries
A spear thrown ripples past a prize
Landing short of red rock bloodshed

A hunter stands apart from his band;
Defiant brave friend
I sit alone too stoic on my perch of granite gneiss

In the mirage


The Moment a Heartbeat Shifts Trice

Snow dusting the crest of Mount Tom,
Patches of orange and brown balm,
Cold air smell of jet metal-cased gneiss,
The moment a heartbeat shifts trice.

Valley awaits the brewing storm,
Sunshine blocked behind veil swarm,
An aversion to inclement vice,
The moment a heartbeat shifts trice.


Wakan Tanka Waits For Me

Staring at the tapered top
Of the ceiling seeing stars
Aerial above the black desert night
Musing about ghostly riders
Traveling the mother road
We dream in deep sleep slumber.


Twilight Settled Around the Texas Spoon

Hammer man tuned the piano, sunlight gave way to moon
Barmaid dried the glasses, as twilight settled around the Texas Spoon

He tipped his hat back, swayed over the loam
The girl he knew would be home
With a shower, steak, eggs, coffee and biscuits
To sober him up for the next day of excess

Copyright © 2018 Michael Shawn Sommermeyer




DQmY73bhwxZbFPVvGvGshKPCtEzK7fseuHjaxCDEW4fB6Pe.png

DQmZh1AG34S6gD7B5mZVWjWXk4zWPhCVxWjyxwHsMobV457_1680x8400.jpg

DQmNihVfTnrubWwTvMtgypUFH3YH4yvj8XeiMKyU2m5GAyb_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Just Love it !!
Thanks @wordmouth for sharing

Poetry of the day...

This post is resteemed and upvoted by @bestboom

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65353.52
ETH 2654.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84