Wordscapes: DONUT PARTY

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

brooke-lark-261287-unsplash.jpg

Photo Donut Party by Brooke Lark on Unsplash.

Hurry!


Halos of donuts
With kiwis and strawbs
Berries and cherries
And daisies and herbs
Juicy sliced peaches
A glitter frosting flurry....

Oh, never mind the rhyme, let's just share them all out now - quick!

@wordscapes

Wordscapes: Donut Party

This photograph was taken by food photographer Brooke Lark, who lives in Salt Lake City and has posted more delectable photos on Unsplash, where she tells us she's a:

Real Food fanatic. Bike rider. People lover. Running around with a camera.

The question whether Brooke's donuts were real catapulted me into the edgy world of fake donuts. There are plenty of imposters around - so be on your guard at all times. A gang Photofit:

Source

They come in all shapes and sizes so keep your wits about you:


Source

Try as I might, I could not track down any evidence of falsification - so Brooke Lark's donuts may well be REAL. On the other hand, there are no greasy fingerprints or juice bleeds from the fruit.....so the verdict's out until - when and if - Brooke replies to my message.

Real or false, lots of meticulous work went into setting up the photograph. Glitter and frosting can be viewed as artistic hazards - a sneeze or a stray hair can destroy hours of concentration. So great work, Brooke, whether or not you got to eat those beauts.

Which would you choose? I would go for the blackberry, cherry, pomegranate and blueberry and call it the "Superfood" donut, meaning that you didn't have to feel guilty if you ate a few; also that if you had a bad cold it might be very restorative to take a few extra.

But what really stopped me in my tracks about this photo was the colour/shape combination, which reminded me of millefiori Venetian glass:

Source

Source

Source

There was something essentially feminine about the arrangement, too. There is flamboyance but one more suited to antique embroidery than Gay Pride, say:


Source

Journeying through this photograph revealed that I'd made a mistake in my poem: the flowers are not Michaelmas daisies, they're asters:


Asters

Source

And are the others small yellow chrysanthemum?

Source

The leaves look a little like mint:

Source

And the fruit arrangement is skilfully meticulous - I imagine knife sharpeners and wipes were at the ready.

Apples, peaches, pears and grapes by Paul Cezanne

Source

Fresh fruits by Veronica Minozzi

Source


Fruit Tart by Scott Bennett

Source

So thank you, Brooke Lark for this feast for the eyes,


Message sent today to the photographer:



Hello Brooke

Your "Donut Party" photo on Unsplash inspired me to Wordscape it.

I hope you like it:

@Wordscapes celebrates inspiring photos. I describe the visuals accurately in a no-frills poem, write a few notes, ask the photographer a question and bundle it all into a post. Next, I invite the photographer onto steemit and yours: if and when s/he replies, it goes in the weekly Wordscapes Digest.

Your Question:

Is that fabulous-looking feast real or fake?

I hope you have time to answer my question: feel free to enclose with your reply extra material promoting your work for the Digest. I have posted this Wordscape on all my channels and have followed yours wherever I can.

Have you considered signing up free to steemit or yours, where you can earn crypto currency for high-quality original posts? Unsplash will be getting into crypto soon: steemit and yours.org are great places for noobs (including me) to get unconfused.

Explore and sign up free to learn and earn steem or Bitcoin Cash:

ImageText


ImageText

*If you do sign up or are already registered, please hit me up and I'll follow you back!



https://steemit.com/@wordscapes

https://www.yours.org/@wordscapes

https://www.minds.com/@wordscapes

This is not an advertisement: this information is offered free. It is not advice. I do not receive any payment for promoting any platform: @wordscapes aims to earn crypto rewards from original poetry posts.

Whether it's a Wordscape, an update on a photographer or a Digest, I try to post every day so please follow me if you appreciate @wordscapes.

Wordscapes

Wordscapes

Sort:  

oh I LOVE doughnuts 🍩 nice

Thanks @viktoriyani - me too! :)

can I order a dozen 😩😩

Es war perfekt ✔💗
Danke schön 💗

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55