Poem of the day 14: Grandmother

in #poetry6 years ago

This is for my wonderful Grandmother, Ellen M. Lambert Zampedri Sheets. I wrote this for her back in 1996. My Grandmother is a strong woman who I look up to. She was born during the depression and knows all about hard work. She met my grandfather when she was 15 yrs old, worked in his family's restaurant, went to school with my grandfather and were married 2 years after they were graduated. She is the rock of our family and I hope she is around for a very long time.

Grandmother

My grandmother is one of a kind
And always has her grandchildren on her mind.
She sees the generations from years past
And those yet to come
All the while hoping the love she shares will last.
My grandmother is unique and all her own
As she welcomes me home with open arms.
She is a ray of sunshine on a rainy day
And showing the world her charm.
My grandmother is special and as I gaze into her laughing eyes,
She smiles at me with love.
There is no one quite like her,
She’s a gift from up above.
No matter what I do or say,
She knows I’ll always love her.
There is no way I can explain,
The friend I found in my
Grandmother and I am glad to call her mine.

By: Thressa (Dunn) Scott
Copyright: June 1996; updated April 2018

Dedicated to my Grandma Ellen M. Lambert Zampedri Sheets

Sort:  

The sacred elders, especially the grandmothers have always been my favorite. I miss mine everyday. This was a lovely remembrance.

You are welcome @mamadini! She is my only grandparent left and I hope she is around for another 10-15 yrs. My grandmother will be 85 this year (even though she doesnt look it), so I would love to see her reach the age of her mother who was 3 days shy of 99 when she passed on to the other side. I hope I live just as long or a bit longer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60773.82
ETH 2378.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57