Broken Old Car (Amateur Poetry)

in #poetry5 years ago

car-2708869_1920.jpg

Another poem from lost sketch books from long ago.


Raindrops tap the roof

of this broken old car

hail rocks on my conscience

leaving bruises and scars
/
The hands of the wristwatch

have but laid down the fight

I draw hearts in the tarnished

windshield tonight
/
The clouds thunder and rage

Outside where the skies frown

The forest is dark and dim

The road is soaked and drowned
/
Black, black skies

That dome the red sun

All my life lies

At the end of this road
/
Lethargy that holds this mind

Like some impairing sickness

A stale mood I wish to leave behind

of life filled with emptiness
/
And it only pains me further

When I go back to warmer days

when I wasn’t such a burden

to your grandiose ways
/
The car doesn’t start

Maybe I'll stay

I’m quite uncertain

I wish to arrive today


(Initial image attribution: https://pixabay.com/photos/car-oldtimer-yellow-rain-old-car-2708869/)

Sort:  

Warning! This user is on our black list, likely as a known plagiarist, spammer or ID thief. Please be cautious with this post!
If you believe this is an error, please chat with us in the #appeals channel in our discord.

This post had received 20.79% upvote from @steemitportugal account!
Our website has lots of news and tutorials you can visit right now at www.steemitportugal.com

Click here to vote
steemitportugal
Delegation for daily voting: 10SP-25SP-50SP-100SP-250SP-500SP-1000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66004.40
ETH 3243.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.19