THREE TIRED VERSES: POETRY

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

WAR

images (4).jpeg

Voiceless screams echoing deep within;
Shocked, blood bleached visage;
The caricature of a painted clown
Mourning the end of a crown.

Swords drawn; the stilling whine of steel,
Stoking flames fevering souls;
Rage born of a nation's pain
Spins out of control to the end of a race.

Blood red battle; corpses in odd poses,
Bleeding smiles from new lips.
The macabre delight of the warped contortionist,
Gripping the earth in cold embrace.

Flapping crows; black wings blanketing the burning sky,
Tear beaks into cold flesh and eyeballs,
Livers and hearts, someone's balls;
Oh the abattoir of the bloodless many.

War! Squabbling kings,
Generals spanning maps,
Soldiers; dying en masse.
Just a quarrel over love and life;
A quarrel between kings.

SOMEONE LIKE YOU

images (5).jpeg

The brown tree thrusts its gnarled hands into the puffy clouds,
Waving anguished fingers at the spirited breeze
Billowing across the shabby forest.

The gnarled hands grasps at little blobs of golden rays,
Dashing across the darkened depths
Like studded golden beads
On a black dress at a funeral for the earth.

The little rays of the golden sun
Splash across the sea of gnarled leaves
To fall on the blackened stream
Echoing of a screaming, brutal rape.

The blackened stream carves a path,
A name, on the tortured earth,
Leaving dead things in its wake,
As big eyed fish bubble up, pale.

Dead things like that burning corpse
Bent in an angle as if to dig into the depthless earth,
The swollen scorched earth;
Staring, yellow eyed, eyeing the blue sky.

Burnt body of someone i used to know and hold dear;
A father figure or brother mine;
A friendly foe or sister wife.

Someone like those others,
Sketched on that burnt length in varied poses;
Stretched fingers melded with plastic gallons,
Hunting wealth in a haunted plot;
Someone like you, my friend.


A SUITABLE END

images (7).jpeg

The striking of drums,
The lining of old hurts,
Slipping through memory to hug crumpled paper dreams.
The opening of a cocoon to the wings of the cold wind,
The end of every life;
All these are a tale that seeks an ending.

The voices have ceased their whining,
The food is finished;
The ants have built their grain bags tight,
The floor is cleaned of debris.
It is night, the mosquitoes, they bite
And the song, it dangles from its crushed throat.

The light comes slowly,
As I watch the flickering shadows
Of your skirt slide out the door
And the echo of your ticklish laugh,
Spread through my skin,
Like a breaking surf returning back to sea;
This is some suitable end.


These are verses that whisper of what pain can be like. Each of the poems tell a different story and in each you will find some part of you. Take these verses, sit with them, sip a cup of coffee with them and let them lie beside you in slumber. Stay safe.

Image sources: pixabay

Peace

©@warpedpoetic

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

4.png

DQmaNBEMAdQAjvR6Cnqa9PJ8VfLb399Zq9AmeTnmaBT3heV.png
IMG_20180315_114128_874.jpg

Sort:  

I also really liked the first one. and as you asked merchak, I see it as love of self that is a major cause of war. I am bigger better faster smarter more handsome than thou, so bow thy knee before me, and kiss the ground I walk on. Or I will kill and kill till you show fealty to me, type of self love.

Narcissism probably? I think this self love leads to entitlement which make some persons take and take and take without remorse and expect the oppressed to understand.

In many cases, the causes of war are as minute as a man pouring beer on another man by mistake. It's just sad that the world seem to love it.

Thanks for your wonderful contribution. Do come again. Stay safe @bashadow

This is triple threat. Hahaha. You write so beautifully. The first one got me though.

The bitter truth is that love is the origin of war:
War! Squabbling kings,
Generals spanning maps,
Soldiers; dying en masse.
Just a quarrel over love and life;
A quarrel between kings.

Love of what, is the question.

All the 3 poems are amazing. Way to go! Great post.

Thank you @shivanir1197. Thanks for stopping by. Do come again. Peace.

Three tired versus? Those were some powerful poems. Liked the first, made me think of the audiobook I'm making about King Richard III.

That's nice. I am glad you liked it. Thanks for stopping by. Do come again.

Your words crisp like a bowl of cereal in my ear.
"Flapping crows; black wings blanketing the burning sky"
It's very dark, very powerful. I'm very very fund of the first poem. But I like the third one too, very fluid, you can feel the atmosphere, this hour when everything dissolves and we just wait for life to come back.

Thank you. I am glad that you enjoyed the poems. My favorite is the last one though. 😂
Thanks for stopping by

Ahah you never know how the audience will receive it. XD My pleasure :)

A suitable end really got me..pretty touching
Nice one

Me too. 😂 thanks for enjoying my verses. Do come again

You're welcome..i will,you should go through some of mine,your contribution will be appreciated

You're welcome..i will,you should go through some of mine,your contribution will be appreciated

I loove the third poem! I feel it in every bit of me! There's always an end to things. And I wish it could be as suitable as in your poem! I honestly loovee loove your way of telling a story! I always feel something after reading your work! It feels great to be able to get a dose of your poetry! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and making us all feel alive and human!😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61113.33
ETH 2927.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69