Mirror

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

I floss my tears
Wash my fears with vinegar
Bitter tasting brew; belief fading.
I lost my years misting away
Like the dew catching the sun,
Painting the moon.

I flossed my teeth
The sign on the mirror read
My lips like a mimic.
I washed my hands on the sink;
It drained away my fears
And the mirror said;
Brush your hair.

#freewrite

Sort:  

The fact that this is a free write is impressive and one of the many reasons that I tell my students to do it daily. There are some great lines in here that I can see becoming an excellent poem. In fact, I think that you could simply remove some things, and it'll be able to stand on its own already.

In the first stanza, I think that the first line needs to be the vinegar line. Then, remove "belief fading" I wash my fears with vinegar, bitter tasting brew. I lost my years...the moon."

Again, I think the floss line can go. Use the sign line as the first, add a second line, keep the rest a is until it you get to sink;.

Of course, there is more you can do here, but the piece could stand as is with these minor changes. I'm jealous of your ability to free write.

Thanks @introvertfl. I appreciate your words.

It's interesting reading all these free-writes. Such a range of styles, from train-of-thought to structured poetry!

I'm standing in for Marianne today on the linking - here's the link for freewrite 82:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-82-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-stetson

So glad that you came out to play! This is fantastic!

wash my fears with vinegar

outstanding!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62228.71
ETH 2419.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57