GUESS WHAT I HAVE MADE? - AN EXPERIMENTAL

in #poetry5 years ago

Guess what I have made?
Love me like that video.
Unedited version and the others.
This was the first time.
That is why I love you.
Oh I have seen it happen.


chain-109302_1280.jpg
pixabay:Shuraki


I picked these random phrases above through the auto-correct function on my phone's keypad. With the phrases I have written a six stanza poem with each stanza carrying a different subject. Despite the difference in subject matter, I have tried to bring the verses together with certain level of similarity in their thematic preoccupation.

I doubt if this is acceptable in writing poetry but I have never really written to fit any prevailing literary school of thought. I think art is freedom and expression can be anything as long as the receiver of the communication, the message can strive meaning. Can I derive meaning from this poem below? I doubt that but it was fun to write. Enjoy.


Guess what I have made?
In my dreams, I have staked
The world and set her foundation.
I have raised her pillars
And balanced the heavens.
I have fed the birds and girded the sea.
I have locked the winds
Between the firmament and the fish
I have given dominion over the waters
Yet man I have given nothing
But ashes and sand,
Glass, cloth and plastic,
Gold, silver and iron.
He has lusted for more and I,
Yes I have fed him enough.
He has lost dominion over himself.
Guess what I have made?

Love me like that video;
The boy caressing the girl,
Smiling into her eyes,
Touching her dimpled smiles
With his kisses and his need,
Wrapping about her waist, his hands
As he sings lewd words into her ears.
Love me with those rough words
Speaking of my body, of my person,
Call me names and watch me
Drop to the floor and twerk to your song.
Love me like that video.

Unedited version and the others
Of nude women being vixens,
Losing their girdles and their skins
To fake dollar bills falling
From broke men wearing chains
On their necks and wrists;
Slaves to gold and silver.
Unedited alcohol stained lyrics
Singing in glee of cocaine and crack,
Endless sex and big cars,
Fake dollar bills receiving calls
From scripted acting drug dealing scenes.
unedited version and others.

This was the first time
The sun broke the night
Like a headlight from a speeding train.
This was the first time
Your hands touched the moon
Even though you fell on the tracks
And watched your mangled body
Cradle the rails like wet clothes.
This was the first time
The weed smoked you and
Lifted you to heaven literarily.
This was the first time you said yes,
You dared to step away from normal.
This was the first time you died.
At least you died high the first time.

That is why I love you,
Yet you will never be mine
For love is not in the stars
Neither is it in your eyes.
You do not remember my name
Neither do you see my face
But you hold my hand, sure
That I will take you home, sure
That I will not lead you astray, sure
That I will be there tomorrow.
This and some other things
Like the flowers you keep,
The stones you skip
In the stream you cannot see,
The moon on your fingers,
The smile you give my words
That you cannot hear,
The pain you hide as you cling to the pole,
The shame you suppress as they squeeze
You body like wet clothes
Is why I love you.

Oh I have seen it happen;
The coming and going of men,
The rising of paupers and the sun,
The setting of misers with the sun.
I have seen it happen;
The breaking of beautiful women
And the crushing of beautiful dreams.
I have seen it happen again and again
In this lifetime and the one before,
In this world and the one before.
Good men rise and fall with the bad
And beautiful things tend to break
Real quick in the worlds that I have seen.
Plodding, careless, disinterested, time
Comes and goes and comes again.
Yes, I have seen it happen
Time beyond time again.


©warpedpoetic, 2019.

Sort:  

Hi @warpedpoetic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.963 which ranks you at #3983 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 222 contributions, your post is ranked at #192.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98