Sort:  

Thank you for the kind words, Janelle, and I am still trying to master the art of simplicity in my poems, I must admit. The urge for verbosity is always there, for extended metaphors.
But every so often, it's nice to break character. To mix things up.

As to the truth, I'd like to hear you say what you think this truth is, the one you've struggled to obtain. Because I can see a handful of different truths you may refer to, and am curious.

Here are the truths I identify with (most) of the poem.

Free to be, free to feel.

Free to leave

I spent a lifetime denying my feelings and giving myself freedom to leave became my greatest achievement.

Though brief, the poem is pregnant with import.

That lesson is hard to come by, and sometimes for this lesson, just recognizing you hadn't mastered it can do harm too.

I too sometimes have a hard time severing strings, and then I wonder, "Is this good, or am I overstaying in this relationship (which can be work related too)?"
And you have to work for all relationships. So this self-question is one that is tough, just to ponder, at times.

And I'm glad you'd left, when it was important :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64166.71
ETH 2765.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72