Progression of If - Original Poetry

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Progression of If

If you knew me
like you say you knew,
If you read my lips,
If I turned.
If I slid behind.
If the walls were tumbling.
If hearts were full.
If the water fell easy.
If the mountains were hallowed.
If the roads were steep,
If birds held back tears.
If the wind could scatter fear.
If I heard a song of sirens.
If the pitch cut and scored the night.
If the world were glass
over our huddled mass.
If there were more in my cup than scattered on the floor.
If you read my lips
You might crave
still more.

20180204_204003.jpg
moving Image Try it!


I am a member of the @freewritehouse growing community! Come and see all the exciting new things happening and try your hand at a 5 minute freewrite daily! Today's prompt is ash

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Discord
Freewriters now have our own room in the Isle of Write Discord!
Here is the link to join: https://discord.gg/zfXNRnK

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for a month!

rose7.png

Logo by @hoschitrooper

Sort:  

love this! Added to the Isle's curation post this week :)

Thank you so much! Im so glad you like it! Your poetry is so amazing.

The title is perfect.. it's not easy to give a proper title, usually I block myself there more than in other points. I love your rich imaginery and the melancholy given by the lost world of the "if" ☺️

Thank you @f3nix, titling is at times so difficult, I appreciate your feedback. Your opinion means a lot to me. hugs

I am glad that you listened to your muse! This is awesome poetry!

Thank you @cecicasor, your comments are always so encouraging!

Got a deep, tingly feeling when I got to this line :

If there were more in my cup than scattered on the floor.

Amazing poem.

Thank you for reading and responding. I'm happy you felt this poem. I don't really know where those thoughts surfaced from, but I listened to the muse. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65142.09
ETH 3205.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57