Poetry: The Blank Screen

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

20180401_225643-01-1651x929.jpegPaalam, Adios, Goodbye

The Blank Screen

Eight years, you served me well
But I wasn't ready for a farewell
You showed signs that you were dying
And I thought you were still fighting

Klik...Klik...Klik...
You cried out weird sounds
And I knew you were weak

I made plans to blog this holiday
Excited, I turned you on
But with a dark screen, lifeless, you lay
I tried again and again, but you're gone

I was hoping this was just a joke
For the day of the fool
I don't want to go broke
To replace you, old tool

I still thank you for your service
Those sleepless nights
Working on my thesis

And now I must accept
That you're gone
For my wallet, I wept
So I can buy a new one



I was hesitant to post this for I even cringe at my own poetry LOL. But then I thought, I don't really get a lot of views for poetry. I already worked on it so I decided to click on Post. So apologies if I made you cringe. Peace!

Sort:  

pretty poem, im sorry for your lapy but still i believed that it can be fixed.

Thanks @matytan! A few years ago, I already had it repaired. And it has become very very slow. So I'm thinking of buying a new one so I can edit photos and videos too for Steemit :)

Farewell good friend. A great ode to your trusty laptop. Excuse me while I go back up my pc. Poetry serving as a warning is useful and I like useful. :)

Thanks @penderis. Please do back up. I was able to back up most of my files but I became too complacent recently and I still have some files (and Steemit post drafts!) that I need to recover :)

I didn't even cringe it was a well written and well thought poetry, in a spur of a moment which is organic. I relate to it...mine too is showing signs of goodbye and I guess I'm joining the boat soon as my wallet bleeds to death..lol. Double drat!

Lol! Thanks for the encouragement @zestforlife. Better prepare and back up your files so your computer doesn't surprise you with goodbyes. Easier to let go that way :D

Cool poem! I know how you feel, I lost my dearest laptop a few months ago, it had served me well and I failed it by not switching it on for a few weeks as I was using my employer's laptop instead. Fortunately my tech guy managed to extract my files!

Thanks @leighleigh :) It got jealous with the other laptop lol :D The important thing is you were able to recover your files. :)

So it wasn't an April Fool's joke being played out, and it is truly gone 😩 ... nevermind, 8 years is long-service, and it's death was the occasion that gave birth to a poem and the courage to click on post after all :D 🔆 🔆 🔆

Happy with the 8 years and really worth it :) I am not so confident in poetry and creative writing. That's why I really admire your talent there :D

What always shines through is genuine self-expression @wanderlass. Focus on that - confidence in your own ability to express yourself, rest will follow shortly behind; and there's so much there already :D ...and thank you 🌟 🌟 🌟

Thanks for those wise words! I need to build on that confidence too. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53