SteemitPoetryContest #11 - Anonymous Faces

in #poetry7 years ago

Time to try out that poetry thing.. I've always been fond of making silly rhymes and poems and from time to time I could even summon up enough seriousness to actually write something with substance also. This time the theme of the poem is "loneliness" as I enter @terrycraft 's poetry contest.

Most of my life I've had a sense of loneliness that I can't seem to really place. I mean, I got a really tight group of friends that have stuck together for almost 15 years now, I've had loving and caring girlfriends throughout my grown up life and most of my family is still around, and I even get to see them frequently. But somehow I still feel lonely, it comes when I least expect it, sneaking up on me from apparently nowhere. Funny thing is, it rarely happens when I'm actually alone. It's almost always when I'm together with people, I just don't really feel I fit in many places and it leaves me in a state of loneliness, like standing outside a party looking in through the windows. A friend of mine through many years, worded it perfectly for me one day we talked about feeling lonely, he said "I feel most alone when I'm surrounded by people" and I can only agree. 

But loneliness is a big problem in our world and recently I've been reading about how people, specially in big cities, starts to get lost in the crowd. All these lonely people, getting up everyday, goes to work, comes home and goes to bed. Isolating themselves in the anonymity provided by our growing metropolises around the globe, just a face in the crowd, just a worker in the firm.
I took inspiration from both my own experiences but also that mental picture of all these individuals loosing their identity in the grey masses, just trying to get by, to fit into the big work-machine, each to themselves.

I like to say as much as possible with as few words as possible when I write poems, specially in this format the contest is set in, it doesn't always work but here it is :)

For easy reading I've also written the poem below in stand alone text, hope you enjoy!

In every crowd
Any places
With no doubt
Anonymous faces

The hollow glare
Bleak sky
No one cares
Live or die

Each to their own
Sealed heart
Forever alone
Forever apart

It was fun to make, thanks for the initiative Terry!
Take care of each other and no more loneliness, we got steemit now :D 

- Jesper

Sort:  

Nice poem! I feel the sadness of your post...

Thank you, glad you liked it despite the depressing theme :)

I know the feeling of being alone in a crowd 😂

But I’ll make sure you won’t be lonely whenever we’re together 😍

Aw so sweet, remember that when I tell you to put your phone away devil woman ;)

Very nice post and poem! Welcome to our group CleanSteemit!
Nice to meet you and have a wonderful day.
Tom

Thanks, excited to be a part of it :) Nice to get a comment and meet you, it is a indeed a wonderful day!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @wanderingdanish to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60385.82
ETH 2321.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51