When A Child Gave A Flower To Death

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

When A Child Gave A Flower To Death

Death wanders like mist in the night or dew in the morn 

Leaving the fallen; new one’s to mourn. Growing forlorn  

Knowing he’s sworn, showing remorse of towing more thorns 

Needing new course, Lonely… Beeming with horns 

Bleeding and torn. Deadly… Speaking’s Forewarn…   

What wise warning would a willful man need? 

The sky’s morning should fulfill man’s deed. 

No man is sinless; the irony of the plot 

Death’s job is endless; man’s life is not.   


The premise - Angelic, sinless and without a blemish 

Sweet Lilly lays like a sunbather bathes on a terrace in Venice 

But inside is a tempest, a tremendous menace  

Cancerous, persistent… Doctor’s growing consensus to end this   

She was once vibrant and protected, 

Childhood illusions erected like little horses collected, 

A doll of a child, so perfectly perfected 

Then her doctor elected for more tests and inspected 

Subjected to injections to the area affected 

But her body rejected, two more areas detected. 

Doctors, the most respected, said she could never be corrected. 

So frail and weak, still perfectly perfected.   


Death drooled in the room like a melting candle 

Uncomfortable like a sexual scandal    

Lilly, holding her father’s hand, said, “Death must be a lonely man.” 

Every person runs out of sand. Forever alone he’ll only stand.” 

What makes you say that angel?  

“I can see it in his eyes. In his bones I can! 

He is sadder than I, it must be my time to die.  

I’m ready daddy, don’t cry. It doesn’t hurt. I won’t lie. 

Daddy, hand me a flower from that beautiful bouquet. 

I want to give it to death as I pass his way, as I pass away. 

Daddy I love you. You’ll get past this one day.  

I’ll be with you along the way.”   


Death was warmed by the thought 

A feeling he’d forgot

Rest performed, healing brought. 

Departed. Another shot   

After all the tears are wept 

Sunrise to sunset 

All we can do is offer a rose to death… 

And hope he accepts.


Thank you for reading my poem. Let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

To my followers you are the ink in my pen. 

Sort:  

Hey walkingkeys! I love that you write poetry. It's good stuff too. Sometimes I wonder about judging how good poetry is, but when the rhymes are this crisp I don't have to wonder. I couldn't help but read this like it was a rap. Maybe that is far from what you intended haha. Still, lately I have been liking the idea of writing my first rappable poem. In any case I will be putting some of my poetry on Steemit soon. Have you heard of papa-peppers wild and strange contest? Soon it will hit the poetry round. Tomorrow or the day after we will have a week to submit a poem based on a meme he is about to choose. 50 steem prize and good exposure. I plan to enter and I'll be busting rhymes wild and crazy holding nothing back so watch out.

Thank you so much for reading, and if it read like a rap, that isn't completely by accident. I actually write on a Rap site and the current Text Topical Champion. lol. www.rap-royalty.com - It is a good place to grow as a writer, but so is Steemit. I've been spending more of my down time on Steemit writing than on RR.
I wish you the best of luck in the contest. It sounds really cool and I will have to check it out. Thanks for the awesome reply, and I can't wait for you to write some of your poetry. Let me know when you do and I'll offer some feedback!
You rock! thanks again.

I enjoyed it as the rose is important to me. My mother's favorite flowers are yellow roses and I brought some to the place where she died. I actually found this emoticon this morning and now I know why I saved it.
death.gif

Sorry about your mother. The rose is a powerful symbol and flower. Thanks for reading and I love the emoticon. lol

I love the feel of this poem. I write occasionally too but I wouldn't call it poetry :)

Thank you for the kind words. I appreciate you reading my work. I'm sure you write great poetry. It is the one thing I think we can all do if we allow ourselves. For the most part, there are no mistakes in poetry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64337.17
ETH 3175.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56