Look Up & Reach Out (An Inspirational Poem For Humanity)

in #poetry7 years ago

"Look Up & Reach Out"

I touched the skin of desire with passion and fire

Kissed the lips of love to take my faith higher

Something inside drives 

Pushes to fight against fighting

Focuses on lighting the way to enlightenment

I shuttered once, when the windows shut

I shuttered again when their mind closed off

What dreams may come to the lying man?

What fate has been sealed by the lions hand?

Stand freely, falling for humanity

Humanity falls for not standing for all

What dreams may come when the future has stalled?

What dreams may leave when we build up a wall?

Some shuttered to touch the skin of desire

But what are we without love to take us higher?

Thank you for taking the time to read my poem. I appreciate you! 

Sort:  

dude...tell me how this idea came into your mind...its so beautiful..
what are we without love to take us higher ..
i am really amazed by your thoughts

Hey, sorry for late reply. Lots of work today. I'm really honored you liked it and want to know more, so let me explain if I can.
To be honest, I write a poem a day. Typically at midnight. I use it to focus and relax and motivate myself. In almost every single poem I write, I write for myself and try my best in the process to disguise what I am really saying with poetic elements to give a public meaning. For context I must say that I am married to wisdom... at least in my creative universe. My wife knows, and she's ok with it. lol. In the Bible there are a couple parts where it speaks of Marrying Wisdom as a metaphor and it is something that has stuck. So wisdom is often personified in almost everything I write somehow. So when someone might read this about love for another human, I am literally in my mind speaking of Wisdom.
So the first lines... I touched the skin of desire with passion and fire... Kissed the lips of love to take my faith higher.
I had an epiphany shortly before writing the poem. So I wrote like Wisdom blessed me with an idea that was born out of my passion to learn and grow and share. It was like I made out with Wisdom and she kissed me an idea only making our bond stronger... Pushing my faith higher... so to speak.

Understanding the spiritual connection between God, Wisdom and my Creativity, then you will see where I almost list off the qualities of Wisdom and the things she pushes me to do. The references to God are there as well... Lion

Then the end when I talk about humanity I say... Some shuttered to touch the skin of desire
That goes back to how many are scared of Wisdom and that is part of the reason for Humanities fall. The last line... But what are we without love to take us higher?
Is a question to humanity... that brings the "public view of man and woman" and private view "me and Wisdom" together to unify the beginning and has a very clear double meaning.

When I write though, I start at the first line and write for three or four minutes and then go back and edit and maybe change a word or two. Then I title it.

I hope you are not sorry you asked... lol Thank you for your kind words and your interest. I hope I was able to answer it.

What a great poem! You used lots of different poetic mechanisms and it showed. AND it flowed!

Thank you so much for noticing. I really appreciate you taking the time to read. It means a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61182.87
ETH 3360.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49