Exhale The Past

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Sometimes the soul has something to say. Tonight I listened and wrote the words that I heard in a poetic free-write. 

Enjoy some soothing sounds while you read.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allow="autoplay; encrypted-media" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Exhale The Past

Harmony is harming me, the search is deafening. Captive like Persephone, because the world has yet to see the best of me. There is no rest in me. Rest for the weary, sleep with the dead. Unity is fed by communities with bread. Poverty feeds crime, some blame the skin instead. 

Wisdom waters willowing flowers. Time honors the willingness to work for hours. Greatness finds those willing to step out of the showers and water their own. Something holds the tone of the earth. Vibrations of birth, stillness in death. Regress we did, but future is in every breath. Exhale the past... presently move beyond.

Harboring feelings like ships out to sea. Kanye West is my spirit animal I believe. What would Wisdom say? Why have my knees not felt the need to pray. Head hung, seldom done, but need to find a way. There is something inside, a fire alive, a dragon's breath, a future past the exhale. Past the stale and the re-tale. My soul is not for sale... set sail and plot a new direction. Something closer to perfection and the potential I was alway meant to find.


Thank you for reading my poetic free-write. 

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. 

Let me know your thoughts in the comments below.

Sort:  

well nice post really like this just saw and really like

Thank you very much. I appreciate it. I hope you are doing well.

@walkingkeys,

Geese, that was REALLY good! You've got talent.

And, you should consider the source: I'm a damnedably snotty fellow when it comes to meting out praise about poetry.

The only thing that gave me pause was:

Kanye West is my spirit animal I believe.

If this is the case, I would recommend jumping off a bridge. You need to pour yourself a glass of Merlot, draw a hot bath and reconsider the implications. :-)

I just left a lengthy comment on your religion vs. science post from a few days ago. So, I thought I'd see what else you'd cooked up. I'm glad I took the time.

I'll start watching for your posts.

Thank you so much for the very kind words. I am super happy you enjoyed it. lmao at the @kanye line. I try to add stuff that evokes emotion... and I guess it worked here. I don't really consider him my spirit animal, but for this piece was looking for the complicated genius that would define the feeling.
I'm going to check out and make sure I responded to your other reply. Thanks for the support and you got a new follower.

@walkingkeys,

Good news on the Kayne-Is- NOT -My-Spirit-Animal-Backtracking thing. Although, I still don't see anything wrong with that glass of Merlot and a hot bath. Just in case.

You're a smart guy. Don't ever define yourself by anyone else - unless it's Shakespeare ... in which case, have a little humility. :-)

This is such an interesting and unorthodox way of writing a poem!

Thank you! I love being unorthodox. Thank you for reading!!! You got a new follower.

Thanks, buddy! I followed you back - would love for us to support each other on our Steemit journey!

Beautiful words. Especially this line "Exhale the past... presently move beyond.", because without exhaling past we can't move forward in present.
Hope you'll be among winners. :)

Thank you for the kind words. I really do appreciate the support. You got exactly what I was saying.

My pleasure dear

I enjoyed your poem. It felt as if I can take old weights off my shoulder and walk a little lighter, a little faster.

That is awesome and I am so glad you enjoyed it. Thank you very much. I really appreciate it.

I use to listen to these relaxing beats before and during sleeping, It made a huge difference in my life I became more calm :)

I do too! Love them when I'm writing too. Thanks for the reply and you got a new follower.

No thank you for sharing :) following you too :)

I really enjoyed the spontaneous overflow of powerful emotion. Nice one

Thank you! I appreciate it. Sometimes it's just easier to write. You got a new follower.

You got a 3.92% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @walkingkeys!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61124.40
ETH 2666.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60