Even for a brief moment

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

sea-987876_1920.jpg

I wrote another page of blues, and then put my pen away. Time for a snack…

Sometimes the night goes by in one-liners that mean hardly a thing in passing yet are said anyway in the passing. Oh, oh, the terrible ideas that keep coming and passing…

A grass snake without a clue was bathing in the sun, and going: puh, puh, puh at everything I was saying. So I changed my tack and came about; after all, I knew how to dance.

Girls were playing their guitars all over the place, and I felt, irradiated.

The band gathered pace, and as they segued into the next song I counted my change to see how much I had left and just knew that the machine didn’t do dyslexic. So I counted my blues and shook out the plot.

Imprinted from every experience I’d ever had I pushed on to have some more while I was still alive and did something pretty primitive on all the walls that came along to stop me that ran down into the gully and became a rainbow.

There is nothing that can cage me so like circles I thought as I fell into the next dream.

And then another page of nothing came at me wearing frills. And dancing around me became another leaf falling from the tree and drinking my wine.

You can read me after midnight in any afternoon at the library when the weather gets too cold and I can’t carry on anymore, I said. But if your eyes are too bright, I’ll see you on the edge of the world where I would be; my satellite, shining on the go.

Ten past another hour came and blew a hole in the table just because he didn’t like my dog. I grew mushrooms about this and fried them up in a blanket that I threw over him to quieten him down; and then pulled out my gun to give him a frown.

Grabbing me by my gun hand, another page of nothing came to be no more than this: that nothing comes from nothing no matter how many bullets you’ve got.

Calligraphy of souls to be interpreted began to burn me down until I turned into blue and green and orange.
And then I had to stare into their eyes, and played a tune for every one of them.
Well, I can dance, you know. Anyway, letterbox 23 was groaning again, so I went to see what was happening this time…

A kiss on the wind was blowing its way to me, so I sat down to wait for it to appear and do its thing and thought many things. Suddenly, blown in on the wind, was the double of all my troubles; and came the girl carrying her piano and a violin trio, wound up with all the money.
What kind of kiss is this I thought?
I let them do what they wanted as I found my way towards London in England somehow with a rucksack on my back and a half formed dream that kept imprinting itself upon my mind over and over until I caught the wrong train, and didn’t know it until I got out a long way from where I wanted to be.
Oh, the pain, the pain. Drat.

Walking the empty beach so full I came upon myself, and said nothing.
...
I took a sip of water in my desert prison of utopia; and after blowing bubbles for a while, I gave up on pretending. So I dialled for emergency services but could get no answer.
Oh….
It was here that shit-face said I had a private call from some café I couldn’t remember, and blew me a dream of something I didn’t want.
And really, at that moment, I could think of nothing else.
And of all the things that I didn’t want that were so many; and of all the things that I did want that rose to heaven praying for our lost souls, none was I most proud of, than you that rose out of slavery, even for a brief moment. I applaud you.

Image from Pixabay

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wales from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 38.78% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @wales. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Congratulations @wales! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50