Poetry- THE PRESIDENT

in #poetry6 years ago

FB_IMG_1528286600934.jpg
The President
{Warning!! This is not fiction}

I don't want to die the death of men and fade away like dust.
I want to die like an institution and be researched for generations.
I want my values to be preserved in their museum's
and my beliefs studied as a point of reference for generations to come.
I want my grave to be very spacious so it can accommodate all my wants for the after life.
I want to die a finished man!!
Left with no unrealized dream!
With no regrets nor excuse to need another tenure on earth.

I don't want to die the death of men and forever be lost in space
I want to die like a prophecy
Fulfilled, accomplished and now must return to the mouth that spoke thee.
I want my legacy to be written in the heart of men
To be memorized, to be lived out.
I want it read out like a book
For the small to learn and for the great to understand
I want to be remembered for the things I stood for
For the beauty I contributed to this painting called life.

I don't want to die the fragmented death of men
Slowly reducing in wisdom and sanity
I want to die like an era and be studied forever
I want my precept immortalized and followed like a religion.
I want my thoughts published and taught as a way of thinking
I want my bones cremated and the dust preserved as a historic artifact
For I am a feat
A landmark
An achievement
I have not followed a single trail but I have drawn my own path.
I have become for the world a universal president,
Forever elected! Forever in power!.

Carpenter's Ink ©

{ credit for the first two lines goes to John Chizoba Vincent from whose Facebook post i lifted it from }

Sort:  

Congratulations @vmj! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55971.81
ETH 2362.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32