Waking Dream

in #poetry7 years ago

In my early morning’s waking dream, I found
myself with my husband and son, driving
together along a formless mountain pass
of leaves and rocks, too close to the high cliffs’
uncertain edge. Like the fragility
of a marriage on the verge of crumbling,
I warned him of the recent rains, the chance
of slides, but he was deaf to my concerns,
aloof, steering me closer to my end.
As the front tire slipped over the edge
the windshield broke and flew away with the wind
like a bird pent up then finally released
into the misty morning air. Soft green
trees and dewy leaves lay like a blanket
on the earth below me, beckoning my fall.
With no effort to stay, I inhaled and slipped
through the path the windshield made, content to die,
but hesitant to speak my last goodbyes,
to my young son, innocent of the sometimes
need to let go, to fall, to leave. As I fell,
the wind, like a good friend, held me steady,
sweeping away all but my purest thought,
my love for my son; I landed in the embrace
of the soft trees outstretched branches, knowing
I lived, but I was not afraid to die.

Sort:  

Congratulations @vicnic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This is a brilliant piece of writing. Thoroughly enjoyed reading :)

Thank you very much! That means a lot to me : )

Wow, great work! So sad. :(

still brings tears to my eyes...

I really like how this was all layed out. It was a gripping story.

Thanks, Moeknows. It was a real dream I had; still vivid.

Great, upvoted :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66