THE POET

in #poetry7 years ago

I try not to visit her,
she smells of smoke
and bitches too much.

Because of the canyons
under her eyes
it would take too long to know her.

She decorates herself
with the dust of an old lover,
and if I get too close

I will choke on her memories
which rise like smoke,
and which she tries to bury nightly

in the moonlight.

Sort:  

Very powerful words!
Really great work!
Can't wait to see more.
Thanks
Darren

Thank you so very much! ❤

"I try not to visit her?" Where'd you come from? BAM! This poem is kinda badass. Going to resteem this but I have to wait til tomorrow so that I don't flood my blog page. Welcome to Steemit :) We need talent like this.

Wow, thank you fine sir! This comment made my day!

Coming from the resteem. The poem is actually pretty good! I love the metaphoric imagery. The first read is very impactful. I'll be adding you to my list of regular checkups. :D

Thank you! That is so kind! 💟

Congratulations @veronicka! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by paintingangels (serena) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

If you didn't join PALnet yet you should:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78