Do you know yourself by heart?

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

doyouknowyourselfbyheart.jpg

Close your eyes.

What is the difference you perceive?

Do you feel the outline of your shape,

can you tell me where your fingertips end?

I’ll tell you where mine end.

Every time I close my eyes,

they expand, and expand

until they reach the end of the horizon.

Until I can no longer feel them as my own.

Tell me,

do you know yourself by heart?

Not me.

Not in this physical form,

not in this state of mind.

When you paint;

Euphoria inside your chest,

Tell me,

Is it exposed to the world?

Or is it kept sealed beneath,

only for you to feel?

& could it be

that we are all wired together

one single string of emotions?

Invisible to us,

Creating sparks like an electric fence -

Here, and there
And here and there and here and there.

Tell me

do you know yourself by heart?

I do.

Not in this physical form,

and not in this state of mind.

But in the way my senses spark up

when my toes dig deep into moist earth.

In the way I feel

while running wildly against the wind;-

For I can wholly feel myself

Light up in my truest form,

expanding infinitely across the horizon.

A self from a different time.

A self from an endless age.

Tell me,

Are we the universe

experiencing itself in human form?

doyouknowyourselfbyheart.jpg

Image edit by Verdant Desire (no ownership of original image)
© 2018 Poem by Verdant Desire

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59007.49
ETH 2658.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44