Poetry Dice Challenge # 4: Grandpa Donald (Original Poem)

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

These are the dice in order going in succession from left to right from top to bottom. Big thanks to @robyneggs for such a cool poetry challenge idea. Best of luck to everyone's entries.

He always stood his ground, firm and strong as a Sycamore


He played board games with us and bought us snacks at the liquor store

He was the kindest of souls, and we loved his smug, humble abode


We grew close to his heart, sweet as fruit and of gold

There was a warm twinkle in his eyes, a gentle sparkle in his smile


When lightning storms shook the house, he would hug me as a child

He'd tuck us in bed with a song, pull the wool blanket over our chests


Til one morning in stress, he withered and fell over, a dried flower at rest

He was taken so suddenly,
leaving my soul, cold and depressed...


How we miss you so...dear Grandpa Donald


Thank you for reading this poem in its entirety. This poem is dedicated to my Grandpa Donald, he truly was an amazing grandfather and kind soul. It is so hard to lose a loved one and it's even harder to not think about the moments where I or any of my other loved family members and close friends could pass at any given time. We must truly love now and give all that we can, before we are swept away in time.

All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

My very own wonderful gif logo provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper Thanks again very much!

Sort:  

Thank you very much, it was indeed emotional to write, reminiscing.

Thank you for reading it, I'm glad the emotion I was conveying was able to be felt. Appreciate it

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $13.53 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 18 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you for the update

Beautiful heartfelt entry.

Thank you truly for your response and for reading. The memories I have of my grandfather hold a special place in my heart.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63632.98
ETH 2727.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58