Pearlescent Poems # 5: Mahogany Monsoon

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

Whales hath no fury like a swooping storm


Trailing trash grouping in a soupy swarm

Uprooted trees, water logged dooming scorn


Locked doors are ripped open, from thudding, booming thicket thorns

Nature has such force, divorced with broken boughs


Rest in peace to the fallen victims beneath the veil who choked and drowned


Flooding is much ferocious with endless pouring wind and rain

What once was paved with life and light, is now dark and bare terrain

A rubber tire, a slit silk robe, a basketball and empty boats

Car upholstery, plastic containers, a clear grey capsule and suitcase floats

A strand of hair, a lonely sock, an open jacket, and shoeless strings

A courier bike, a pickup truck, a public bus and soulless things

A shattered house, with scattered glass, a piano cracked, completely filled

An office space, and coffee shop, now home to crabs and creatures gilled

A second floor department store, wood furniture gone, now agony rooms

Splintered walls, battered doors, such remnants of Mahogany Monsoon

Thank you for reading my poem in its entirety. I hope you could take something from it during your experience. Destructive weather is so tragic and devastating, we can't take life for granted. Next post coming soon

All Gifs used from Giphy.com
Photo Credit: Me

Sort:  

Beautiful. Such a powerful tone held in this piece. Mother nature's fury is no match for anything we maintain. I liked the internal rhymes towards the end of the poem a lot, added an almost whimsical feel. Great work!

Thank you once again for chiming in your thoughts @alchemage it's always nice to hear back from a fellow poet who inspires many as well. I am glad you enjoyed this one. It was a bit tough to write this today, especially imagining all of the horrifying things that such destruction entails but everything has a purpose and this was just a small reminding gesture to cherish life using a very direct method. Appreciate you.

love it! great as always

Thank you soldier, I get much enjoyment from those who can find value in my poems and work as much as I find joy, inner improvement and self growth from writing them. Looking forward to your next post, congrats on your last one :)

the images are incredible, nothing can stop the fury of nature beautiful congratulations post

Thank you for reading my poem, and yes, the images are definitely destructive and captivates people in awe of its power and raw forces. Appreciate your kind words

I love your photo-very mercurial but I couldn't read the poem with all the Gifs in between the words. Maybe it's an age thing. The vote is for the photo!

Thank you @cathi-xx I wouldn't want you to feel unable to read my poem so I have included only the text for you to read it entirely. Thank you for the upvote and nice comment, the full poem is below here :)

Whales hath no fury like a swooping storm
Trailing trash grouping in a soupy swarm
Uprooted trees, water logged dooming scorn
Locked doors are ripped open, from thudding, booming thicket thorns

Nature has such force, divorced with broken boughs
Rest in peace to the fallen victims beneath the veil who choked and drowned
Flooding is much ferocious with endless pouring wind and rain
What once was paved with life and light, is now dark and bare terrain

A rubber tire, a slit silk robe, a basketball and empty boats
Car upholstery, plastic containers, a clear grey capsule and suitcase floats
A strand of hair, a lonely sock, an open jacket, and shoeless strings
A courier bike, a pickup truck, a public bus and soulless things

A shattered house, with scattered glass, a piano cracked, completely filled
An office space, and coffee shop, now home to crabs and creatures gilled
A second floor department store, wood furniture gone, now agony rooms
Splintered walls, battered doors, such remnants of Mahogany Monsoon...

Thanks, got you on follow.

You're welcome, and thank you for the follow. Much appreciated

More awesomeness delivered through your imagery and lyrics. Love it!

Keep it coming, brother. :)

Thank you @ezzy I'm glad you liked this piece. I wanted to really pull my readers in with the added imagery and the word choices. I've been at the hands of tremendous forces of water, but that's another real life experience story I shall be writing very soon enough.

You should turn this into a rap just like the one with @sirwinchester. You could be like the rapper of Steemit lol.

Thank you for the feedback. I definitely wouldn't mind being a steemit emcee. I've been writing all my pearlescent poems in 16 bar verse structures, but not necessarily writing them with the intent to rap them, but I could easily change the syllabic layout to make it more rhythmic, but the most important factor is the beat that would fit the mood and theme of this one in particular. I'll definitely post more music soon. Just keeping my pen sharp and testing my creativity with a poem every so often. I really appreciate your thoughtfulness, suggestion and feedback.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 55825.83
ETH 2516.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28