Pearlescent Poems # 30: Hectic Narcoleptic (Original Poem/Real Life Experience)

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)


I knew a friend of my friend who was a Narcoleptic
At first I thought Narcotics, but became apologetic
When I learned of what it meant, I was quick to be a skeptic
But ignorance is bliss, numb to feeling empathetic


Or even sympathetic, to the fact he falls asleep
At any given time, such moments that he'll never keep
Could you even imagine, randomly passing out?
Then awaking in situations, not knowing what they're about?


The craziest thing I recall, is that he likes to drive a truck!
He once followed us to camping grounds. That's pressing all his luck!

I don't know how he made it, as we drove nearby the cliffs
When we got to Yosemite Park, I knew from God, it was a gift


He survived the journey there, but said he nodded off a few
Sometimes they lasted seconds, other times he had no clue
The dangers for him driving must be more than just magnetic
I hope a cure through studied genetics, aids his life that's crazy hectic


Thanks for reading another poem of mine from a real life experience I had. The guy I'm speaking about is a friend of my best childhood friend Nate, and that same guy also suffers from cataplexy, which is a common symptom of narcolepsy where the person can fall asleep immediately due to a strong emotional reaction or experience like laughing.


Having humorous conversations with him were interesting and amusing at first. He is a nice guy from what I remember, but if I had that illness I definitely wouldn't drive. I only met him once but I hope he is alive and well.

All Gifs used from Giphy.com

Next Post coming tomorrow

My very own wonderful gif logo provided to me by the generous and kindhearted @papa-pepper Thanks again very much!

Sort:  

Yikes!!!!! I don't think he should have a license!!!! What an awful disorder to have.

I couldn't agree more myself. Thank you very much for reading and being the first comment. I really like seeing what people have to say, I appreciate your reaction.

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 01. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $18.38 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 01 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Thank you for the update

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57207.57
ETH 2995.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26