The Tide Rises, The Tide Falls

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

The tide rises, the tide falls, 

The twilight darkens, the curlew calls; 

Along the sea-sands damp and brown 

The traveller hastens toward the town, 

And the tide rises, the tide falls. 

Darkness settles on roofs and walls, 

But the sea, the sea in the darkness calls; 

The little waves, with their soft, white hands, 

Efface the footprints in the sands, 

And the tide rises, the tide falls. 

The morning breaks; the steeds in their stalls 

Stamp and neigh, as the hostler calls; 

The day returns, but nevermore 

Returns the traveller to the shore, 

And the tide rises, the tide falls.

- Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

###

I used to read poetry because it was the "cool" thing to do. And you'd probably be able to guess what sort of little pretentious literary bookworm I was as a child, who would do something like read poetry for its cool factor.

To be honest, though there were poems that sparked a little something in me once in a while, I never truly loved poetry until my late teens.

Then, I discovered the Ogura Hyakunin Isshu, thanks to anime. 

They were beautiful. I liked how they used so little to say so much. And thus began my true journey into poetry.

So, I've decided to share random poems that speak to me once in a while. 

For the one above, one line in particular caught me: The little waves, with their soft, white hands,

The best poems for me always leave a strong image in my head and make me see a little bit more to the world. 

I see poetry as a great way to cleanse and refresh the mind, so here's your dose for the day. 

Sort:  

Beautiful poem - and I totally agree about it being a way to refresh the mind! Btw i'm arranging a KL meet-up soon. Check out my recent post and let me know what you think / you can attend!

Sounds great! going to be following you for updates on that :)

Awesome news!

Great. I love reading poetry. This is a good one too. I enjoyed reading

Thanks for the encouragement! Glad you liked it :)

You are welcome always

Congratulations @venxhin! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @venxhin! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @venxhin! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65762.16
ETH 3485.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50