Original Poetry: I am me

in #poetry6 years ago

image

CCO Creative Commons image by Pixabay


I am me

A face among the crowds,
is how I am seen.
One of many, insignificant
in there eyes.

Like a mirage, fleeting.
Gone, in the blink of the eye.
A wall flower that is ignored.
Yet, I care not, because I am me.

In my own way, I am unique.
Even if society thinks otherwise.
In the forest, a tree among others.
Yet, my root is deep.

Do not think of me
as a little cat, this cat has teeth.
Look down at me, and I will bite back.
I am a cat with a lion's heart.

I am myself, myself is I.
I may looked ordinary outside.
Deep, immeasurable, and proud,
Is who I am, what I am.

My belief is my own, I am myself.
I am significant, I am of value.
No matter what others say,
I am unique.

Others may not see the real me
Even so, it matters not.
My will, will not be shaken
My heart will not be broken
Because, I am me...


I am me, this sentence looked and sound weird and yes it is. But, look past that and you will see the deeper meaning within.

In this poem I used "I" rather than "we" but I am not just referring to myself but rather every individual who reads it. In other words, this for everyone, especially to all average looking guys and gals out there. That's because everyone is special and unique.

This is it for now. I hope you find the poem inspirational. Till next time.


image

Sort:  

I guess, everybody who reads your poem feel like you.

Do not think of me
as a little cat, this cat has teeth.
Look down at me, and I will bite back.
I am a cat with a lion's heart.

Yeah, humans do not like to be underestimated by others

Nice topic on your poetry.

Thank you. I'm glad you liked it.

This piece really comes into its own when you make use of images such as:

In the forest, a tree among others.
Yet, my root is deep.

and

I am a cat with a lion's heart.

The message is so optimistic and encouraging. When you show us how you interpret that message with unique images, then the poem truly spreads its wings. Thanks for sharing!

You're welcome. Thanks for dropping by.

What a very affirming and inspirational poem. It would be good one to read when feeling down, so that the reader could be re-energized. Thanks for sharing!

Thank for your input.

Wow nice poem.... keep it up... God bless

Thank you!

This is one of my favorite pieces of you. The deep thinking about what is it to be you, the struggle to understand your identity in a world of Mass culture. Really strong piece.

Thank you for the great comment. I'm glad you liked it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vegaron from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I like it. The poem in itself is unique, as you are, as we all are. I am Me. It reminds me of the one I wrote called Black and Proud. Check it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55789.30
ETH 2345.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31