"The Last Person"

in #poetry6 years ago


I still remember the time when our eyes first met
I don't know how, but the first time I laid my eyes on you
I knew and sensed
that you will be a part of my life

And I was not mistaken
We spent seven years and a half together
Yes, it was just for seven years and a half
but a lot of things happened.

We went through a lot
trials, tears, quarrels, fights, and so much more!
They all happened so fast my love
It was as fast as our love that has borne fruit,
and how you have left me and given up on everything!

I thought you were the person destined for me
to be with until we grow old.

I thought you were the person given to me by God
for me to change my wrong ways
Especially in times that I am weak.

You shouldn't have fought in the very beginning
if you are just going to give up on the biggest battle!
You should've just stayed away My Loved!

Didn't I tell you I will change?
Because I don't want to lose you
But love, what did I get in return?
You became full of yourself
You are no longer the person I loved
For what have I changed if you yourself have also changed.

The truth is, you never gave me an opportunity to show you that I can!
I know I can, I know I can do it,
that's because I love you!
No matter how hard it is
I will walk towards it little-by-little
But why is it like this my love?
I feel like you are just taking revenge.

Yes, I do admit it,
I wasn't the best and perfect husband for you
I made a lot of mistakes every day
Like a routine, we fought almost every day
It seemed like a miracle when we don't fight in a day, right?

I committed a ton of wrongs
I was inadequate in a lot of areas
But this I say, with the Heavens as my witness;
I never ever cheated on you!

I also knew that the odds are against us,
but it never stopped me from fighting
Because I have more faith in my feelings than the things I am hearing from others.

There are so many questions left unanswered
My love, why did you set me aside during the times I needed you most?
Knowing they are wrong, why did you choose to listen to them instead of me?
How could you leave me all alone?

Do you know love? I still remember the times that we were happy together
I always asked God for a sign, if you were really the one meant for me
Then the next big thing happened
He gave us our little prince
But now, what happened to us?

I never questioned God
Because I believe that God knows what is best.
I'm just thankful.
Fully grateful for the peace of mind that he has given me
after everything that has happened.

I told myself
That you will be the first and last person I cry for in the middle of the road
The last person I will run after
And the last person that I will beg to stay,
for your departure means my death.
but my love, I survived.

On the other hand,

I'm not saying I will never love again.

My love, all I can do for now is to pray for you.

Thanks to @bobiecayao, for mentoring me.

Please cast your vote for @surpassinggoogle as a witness. Visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" in the first search box.

To give him your witness voting decision, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Other recommended witness: @beanz @curie @teamsteem @acidyo @reggaemuffin @utopian-io @good-karma @blocktrades @timcliff @hr1 @cloh76.witness @busy.org @precise @arcange @gmuxx @jerrybanfield @jesta

Please support his project as well, which is @teardrops Smart Media Token.

Join the Voices Of The Underground by @beanz on Discord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55