Road High

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Death is all around me
watching from eyes hurried in blurred
zagging laps behind suddenly stopping
and speeding bullets of addicted apathy.

I see you indignant and full of
pretended care while typing away
or giving your mind to a flashing
screen pulling your triggers
stronger than a shot of dope could ever do.

Drunk, you persist, callous to
the mortality and danger you project.
Even when questioned or brought to recognize your
fault your deny culpability
and continue your blind
pursuit still not bothered till you cause mayhem.

Death follows me and peeks
around every corner all so
that you can enjoy a game
or a chat, a snap, or a 'like'
and you indifferent and growing
like a petulant disease engulfing the blacktop.
Death surrounds me.

By: G

Sort:  

This is the best post on Steemit. I gave you a vote now, ya heard?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56679.48
ETH 2377.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26