Pity Party of the Uninspired

in #poetry6 years ago

Hello! After watching “The Hunger Games: Catching Fire” Friday night, I realized that I may never have what it takes to be an author of fiction. Being a busy mother and wife doesn’t leave me much time to focus on writing, as you may have noticed with the lack of entries lately. This is a bit depressing knowing that I am too busy for writing poetry, which is what I consider to be fairly easy for me and my forte. What does that say about ever being able to write fiction? But, it may not just be about being too busy, it’s also about being uninspired. Also, I am not sure if I will ever have the imagination that it takes to write. I am sure there is something down in there…but will I ever tap into it?? Someday, somehow, I hope to be able to say that I found success as a writer. But until then…here is my version of a pity party.

Imagination eludes me
As I try to write.
Inspiration escapes me
Laying here tonight.

Christmas movies
On my TV
Are more inventive
Than I’ll ever be.

Salty drops fall
From my eyes.
A sensitivity
Sometimes I despise.

But do I cry
For only what I see?
Are these tears
Also for me?

Are my dreams
Remotely justified?
Will they know
How much I tried?

Is talent something
I possess?
Will I ever
Find success?

Hats and streamers
Aren’t required
For pity parties
Of the uninspired.

You’re invited
Just the same.
Maybe someday
You will know my name.

Greetings to you
A mark on the page.
Effortless words
Acted out on the stage.

I will keep dreaming
And pray it’s begun.
For this pity party
Is finally done!

U5dt9cZAP4hqYhsp5i2h7VdLsik46Cu_1680x8400.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63267.39
ETH 2572.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80