Battle Cry

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Lothbrok.jpg

V8 Separator.png

I may look mortal, but I am a god
Wild, free, and unlawed
I remember, each day a battle cry
Great steps, with or without ally

No abyss too deep, or wide
I will stand over it, astride
Live each day with a battle cry
On my path, as one look will mortify

No man will stand in my way
I am knife through the affray
Man is shattered by my battle cry
No moment to wonder why

The gods in the golden hall
Hear the echo around the wall
As my battle cry reaches them all
They watch my tales, enthralled

I will enter there with enlightenment
They will give me my entitlement
The same battle cry
Every day till I die

The days I have are painted in fate
Lines crossed off on a piece of slate
I run into each day with a battle cry
Ready for the bridge on the day I die

 
V8 Separator.png

Vote to Increase my Witness Rank: Witness Vote

Get More & Higher Upvotes: Steemfollower

SteemSchool Website: Website

SteemSchool Discord Community: Discord

V8 Separator.png

Stats.jpg

V8 Separator.png

Sort:  

I may look mortal, but I am a god

In the words of Eminem: "Why be a king, when you can be a god!"
Being a god might be hard, but i want to get as close to that "status" as i can in this lifetime, and if technology advances well enough, maybe this lifetime can be prolonged to forever!

No man will stand in my way

Or women! I think that women are as likely to stand in our way as a man, stupid oxytocin makes us way too dumb...

I am not falling victim to my urges.
Follow your mission, then you don't need a woman.

Great minds from a great hero in the person of Ragnar Lodbrok of Vikings. Heroes and warriors are born not made.

You said 28 March is the remembrance of Ragnar Lodbrok of his invasion of Paris. I taught it was just a fictional stories about the Vikings way of life in the past. Correct me if am wrong @valorforfreedom

He was a Viking leader lauded in a number of old Norse poems and sagas. So the character is based on a legendary hero.

Ragnar "shaggy breeches" Lothbrok existed and as usual Television tells a lot of bullshit about him, which is why I stopped watching it at some point.

Yeah, unfortunately that's usually the case when they base a character on a real person. They just don't seem able to quit with the poetic license, or even outright fabrications. I've stopped watching a number of series for that reason.

Never judge a book by it's movie.

Never evaluate history by its entertaining rendition either.

Boy, ain't THAT the truth!

I’m a god
Made and shaped by battle
In the middle of the battle
There with a Loud Cry, a god arose

I stand in the way of war
And war walks my way
The war cries are my favorite song
The sound of weapons clashing is my best riddim

Victory is at hand
And so I changed my name to victor
I’m a god of war
And so I have death in my porch

Wonderful piece my friend 🤝🎊🎊🎉🎉🎊🎊

Thanks , you inspired it I must say as I’m more of a singer than a poet . I make songs, reggae music and I have my songs on my blog . I love what I do and I try to be the best in it.
If you love reggae music , then I have some African vibes combined with reggae. You might love them as I have several others

I will enter there with enlightenment
They will give me my entitlement

Love it :)
Peace.

Ragnar Lodbrok 💪🏼

Indeed, the 28th March is a day of remembrance for him for his famous sack of Paris.
Tomorrow is Ostaria which people nowadays call Eastern.
Original Germanic tradition.

Ragnar!!! JUST last night I asked my son when the new season of Vikings is supposed to start.

Your poem and that amazing music video made me remember a fiction Viking series I wrote. Published the first but have to go back and edit the rest and get them pubbed too.

I've been thinking I need to call forth and express my Warrior side more....

I am a wolf in human shape
I am a predator with flaming rage

and:

I will die with sword in hand
And then my seat's secured
When Odin calls from golden hall
He will greet me at the door

Put in different way than I would but essence is the same. Mission to be done. Passionately carry it out every day, fearlessly and without compromise.

Thanks for your battle cry and for this reminder...

Tomorrow is Ostaria which people nowadays call Eastern.
Original Germanic tradition.

the only heavy rock that I like these song of system of a down

great post it is

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71