Damaged

in #poetry7 years ago

NO IMAGE

Sometimes I think pictures are the only link to the long forgotten past
For even my body has changed, and it's still changing so quick and fast
For when I am sober, downcast, calculating my January to December
I dream like I have never seen roadblocks before, still I do remember

How on earth do you find yourself? In such a vast unknown tomorrow
How do you find the right path? When you don't know where to follow
I am tired of all days being the same, the same sunshine and falling rain
It's the same hate, I got for my love, the same emotions of Abel and Cain

O ' my bright midnight star, it is getting more and more difficult to find
With children, grandchildren, will love return back to this aging mind?
It no longer matters, what the breeze is saying, I can only hear silence
The silence of lamps for the dying flame of a candle, the music of sirens

I looked for a miracle and discovered, many starlight nights in Nigeria
When quick steps echoed in the distance, as I ran home with my Maria
When we drove through red lights, in the busiest intersection of town
With warm sun upon my face, I remember when yesterday was around

When love walked behind me, bathed in the cold spring of morning light
I do not feel guilty, not even for my sins, although I know it is not right
For in the hands of explorers, friends, I've been left dry, disadvantaged
A smooth pebble of the sea, thrown away into the mountains, damaged.

Sort:  

Beautiful piece, the message was direct and strong, yet the rhymes were simple and subtle... Nice

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77