A Parent's Prayer

in #poetry6 years ago

A Parent's Prayer
Now I lay me down to sleep,
I pray my sanity to keep.
For if some peace I do not find,
I am pretty sure that I'll lose my mind.

                                                                                                      I pray I find a little quiet,
                                                                                                      Far from daily family riot.
                                                                                                      May I lie back and to have think,
                                                                                                      About what they're stuffing down the sink.


                                                                                                      Or who they are with, or where they are at,
                                                                                                      And what they are doing to the cat.
                                                                                                      I pray for time all to myself
                                                                                                      (Did something just fall off a shelf?)


                                                                                                       To cuddle in my nice, soft bed
                                                                                                       (Oh no, another goldfish dead!)
                                                                                                       Some silent movements for goodness sake
                                                                                                       (Did I just hear a window break)


                                                                                                        And that I need not to cook or clean
                                                                                                        (well heck,I've got the right to dream
                                                                                                        Yes I now lay down to sleep,
                                                                                                        I pray my wits about me keep.


                                                                                                        But as i look around I know,
                                                                                                        I must have lost them long ago!
Sort:  

You got a 35.55% Upvote and Resteem from @ebargains, as well as upvotes from our curation trail followers!

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 90% of the voting service's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the service's SP pool daily! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

We are also a very profitable curation trail leader on https://steemauto.com/. Follow @ebargains today and earn more on curation rewards!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88