ECHOES FROM THE PAST

in #poetry6 years ago

FB_IMG_1516311390232.jpg

I am the voice from a distance
hunted by the choices I made.
A thousand men have I slain
from the swing of my flaming tongue.
I am my mother's graying pains;
her prayers in countless vains.
I am a knight at night
communed at the heart of darkness.
I am the eclipse of pain
raining down on the children of men.
I am all that I am
because I was anointed by the gods of race.


Though I am made strong by the streaming oil on my forehead I am weakened by the creams of streaming blood from the gutters of my heart. I am lost in the tears of my brothers' souls, hunted by the tears on my mother's dying bed, and cursed by the anger of my mocked ancestors. I am poor from the wealth of betrayal, bemused by the groans of deception, and axed from the ties of family.
I am fighting a war inside, A WAR OF INSIGHT! Writing with the last droplet of blood only to restore my aided gray into maidenhood.

WHENCE SHALL I KNOW THE END FROM THE BEGINNING?

©Curtisjackson
@ungest

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF.gif

DQmQ599LwdiqJJw5oko4MK4PHcPJCZkvk8ScrW9ojcJfGX9_1680x8400.png

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ungest from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28