Coping

in #poetry6 years ago

maulana-538020-unsplash.jpg
Maulana on Unsplash

Your words are brave
But the thickness of your voice reveals your pain.
I hear your unsaid wish.
For I, too, seek reprieve
From the tyranny of unkind thoughts.
I feel the leading edge of crash and burn
And choose, instead, firm lashing
To the mast of my own courage,
Deaf to the falsity of self-destructiveness.

But you have a twilight look about you,
As if you are barely here,
As if the road unwinds before your eyes
And you project mirages to protect your core.
I prefer to smile,
Though I confess,
It's been a while
I've lived with less.

Sort:  

Another excellent one! Go to the icon upper left, the steemit logo and click on it. It will take you to a page where there is a drop down box that is labelled "My Feed." Click on that and scroll down to contests. You can check that feed for contests, and you can scroll further down and check the "poetry" section. You can also just ust the search box upper right and search for "poetry contest." There used to be poetry groups on discord that hosted weekly ones, I will check and see if they are still active. Discord is a pretty interesting platform for chatting, you may want to consider joining. It is where the real steemit networking happens. Hugs!

You're a champ, Claire. Thank you, as always. ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63