To a friend

in #poetry7 years ago

Two days ago, I read a post about a steemian who committed suicide and then I thought of my friend who contemplates suicide upon every challenge and at short intervals. At some point, I thought she was only seeking attention, but that post made it seem real. The thought of it scares me and I don’t want to lose anybody to that. So, it spurred me to write these few lines for her and to others who are on that path;

I know you have been judged
Your scars have been called ugly
I know you are tired
You can’t take anymore
I know
I heard about the rejection
I saw those pill bottles
I saw the rope
I’ve seen the look on your face
I know what you are thinking
Pills or rope?IMG-20170926-WA0011.jpg

Then, I saw you step out
Perfect time to switch the pills, I thought
Hide the rope too the voice said
But then, my phone rang
She is on a ledge I heard
Oh dear,
Remember
I know the story
And life, I know how hard it knocks
Step away from that ledge
I heard it’s very ugly down there IMG-20170926-WA0009.jpg

Come
Let’s not think about the past
You have seen my scars too
Let’s make tattoos out of them
Let’s pop some happy pills
And the rope, let’s make that swing we’ve always talked about
Let’s not even think about the future
I heard a new episode of scandal is out
Let’s sit and watch and laugh all night
Let’s cry if we can
Let’s gossip and live
I have a lot to show you
Let’s live today.

Sort:  

Suicide is not the way,
Though seen as the way out,
Challenges and scars inevitable,
Bracing up because it is surmountable

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62986.12
ETH 3072.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84